First Day at School


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Gangnam » Samseong
February 17th 2011
Published: February 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today ended up being a pretty long day. I left with roommate #2 for school at 9:15, morning classes start at 9:40. And now I can finally answer almost all of the questions (that were asked so frequently before I left) about what I will be doing for work over the next year.

First off- I will be teaching pre-school mostly. These kids are about ages 5-7 but in Korean years which differ from ours #1 because they come out of the womb as 1yr olds, and then they acquire a year onto their age every New year or Korean New Year...not sure which. Anyways like I said they start class at 9:40 and are there until 2:30 each day. At age 8 they start elementary school, which they attend until 2:30, and then show up for classes at SLP (my school) at 2:30. I sat in on several classes today of both pre-school and elementary age, and I have a feeling that I am super excited to have been placed with preschool. Not only because they seem so sweet and generally excited to learn, but also because the schedule is way better- I would much prefer a 9-5 day over a 12-8 day. All of the teachers have been so nice and helpful, I have no reservations about asking questions or looking like an idiot in general. For the most part they're all fairly young and humorous, all of the girls seem like my kind of people which makes me happy. Also, the school building is adorable- they just moved into the new building in January and its all bright colors and modern- I will hopefully be able to snag some pictures sometime. Oh and the best part- no real dress code!! Pretty much just don't show up looking like a slob or a skank and you're good to go- jeans and everything. I guess I'm pretty easy to please in that respect. So Mom- I guess it's a good idea we didn't go do any clothes shopping. It's coming to the end of the school year for them and there will be a big graduation ceremony on the 24th which I'm pretty excited to see. I know that each class is preparing a song and dance for the ceremony- I'm sure it will be adorable. My favorite one that I saw practiced today had to be that "Cooler than Me" song by Mike Posner....you've heard it. I don't even really like it but it's so cute to hear little Korean kids sing and dance to it.


ANYWAYS...I just got here but traveling is on my brain. Everyone is talking about it! Well, mostly the people who are getting ready to leave. It sounds like no one is going straight home- they have all saved up enough money to mess around in fun places. One of my current roommates and her boyfriend are going all around SE Asia for....I want to say 5-6weeks? She said its only going to be ~$2500!!! Isn't that incredible?! And then they will finish up in Europe with a much shorter stay and much higher price tag. So people- please start doing your travel research.
The sad part on my mind about the whole traveling thing is that I don't have the long breaks that I thought I would. I guess my longest break will be a week at the end of July or beginning of August-ish (I will get the exact dates ASAP) and another full week over Christmas/New years. Other than that it's just sporadic 3 and 4 day weekends, plus those 10 vacation days that I can use whenever. So....lots to plan and think about.

I went out with two teachers tonight to that huge mall that I mentioned last time. It's called COEX, google it (or GTS to Nikki). Apparently if anyone in Seoul asks what part I live in I should just say COEX and they will know exactly where I am. One of them said they're pretty sure it's the largest underground mall in Asia- and I can quite easily believe it. Honestly- it blew my mind. We just walked around pretty fast for maybe an hour and a half or so....I was just following because without them I would have been completely lost. Biggest sensory overload of my life. And the next time I'm bored I'm absolutely going there and wandering aimlessly for hours. We ate dinner in a department store....sounds weird- but the entire bottom level is tons of tiny restaurants and food counters and a grocery store. And while talking with the girls at dinner I discovered that some of the teachers have joined a gym, they have also joined swim classes, dance classes, drawing classes, and I've got to believe many more...so I'm intrigued. Looks like I should probably pick a hobby.

So...aside from opening a bank account and purchasing a Hello Kitty Charm that I can pre-load money onto in order to pay for the bus/subway...that was pretty much my day. I have a doctors appointment to look forward to tomorrow morning so it's off to bed for me! I love everybody!!





Advertisement



17th February 2011

Way to Go Holly!
I'm smiling all over because you sound Happy and Strong and Comfortable so far! It all sounds amazing and I couldn't be happier for you. We look forward to your entries and are still trying to figure out this time difference thing so that we can be available to Skype! Sounds like the people you are with are friendly and are making your transition easier. Do you know who your roommate will be? I've got so many questions, but I know it's too soon for you to have answers. I'll be patient. Try to let me know about your healthcare coverage asap. That would be helpful. Sleep well, be well and stay in good spirits. Can't wait to hear more! I love you ; - ) MOM
18th February 2011

omg this is so weird
One minute you are buying pizza with Daniel at the grocery store in Lakewood, the next minute you are in South Korea...is that near Japan? tee hee. I never knew everything would be so modern and ADORABLE there, and that babies could come out of the womb at one year old...go figure!!! I am learning something new. Okay, well back to humming and drumming...same ol' same ol'. Have fun Holly Dolly and glad you found an immediate nice fit halfway around the world!!!
18th February 2011

good start
Glad to hear that you arrived and settled but the first week or so you will find the jet lag catched up with you at odd moments and in odd ways. Take it a little slowly at first, get caught up on your rest and then you will find yourself much more relaxed and able to absorb the new experiences.
18th February 2011

Your new adventure!
HI Hol-Doll!! It's Aunt Val....I had wanted to touch base with you before you embarked on your adventure but sorry to say just didn't get on it in time. I am soo happy that you've arrived safe and sound. Seems like you've done so much, seen so much and learned so much in the very short time you have been there. I can't wait to see some pictures as I have a vision in my head of what you're looking at but want to see if it matches the reality. I am going to google that mall after I finish this..... I am really excited for you Holly. I'm sure this is going to be a life changing experience for you. I'm proud of you for taking on this adventure and am looking forward to following along via your posts. By the way, what is the time difference?? Just curious! Love you sweetie, take care and don't worry about your mom....we'll check in with her regularly and we'll make sure she gets on that ticket to come visit you!!! Love you, Auntie Val
19th February 2011

COEX, huh?
Well, Holly... you never mentioned shopping. Why am I not there with you?! I'm glad you are having a good time. :) <3 you!
19th February 2011

1 year = 9 months
how can they be 1 year straight out of the womb when gestation is 9 months? hmmmm this just doesn't add up
20th February 2011

Haha
I should have deleted that comment, it was so dumb. But since I love you, I accepted it. But you think about this- everyone is going to see it :)

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb