New Farm in Gurye


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeollanam-do
June 8th 2008
Published: June 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jeong Bok JugJeong Bok JugJeong Bok Jug

The green bowl is abalone rice porridge, a Jeju delicacy. For most it probably does not look very appetizing but it is actually quite good.
So now I am back on the mainland in Gurye, a small county in the heart of Jeollanamdo province (southwest corner of Korea). The province gets abundant rainfall and is also home to the warmest weather on the peninsula. This helps to produce large amounts of agricultural produce, mainly rice, wheat, barley, pulses and potatoes. Vegetables, cotton and fruits are also grown in the province. This, I have to admit, I copied striaght from Wikipedia but it's totally true, I am in the Korean heartland of farming.

I left Jeju on Thursday with the original intent of taking a ferry but I somehow managed to mix up departure time of the destination port with Jeju's. So I headed to the airport knowing that all flights that day were booked out but I was hoping my Start Alliance frequent traveller status would somehow get me out of Jeju. And indeed it did. Only one reservation got cancelled and since I was first on the standby list I got the slot. Never mind that I had to wait 4 hours for the flight to take off. I flew to Gwangju and took a bus to Gurye from there. After leaving Gwangju behind
AquariumAquariumAquarium

You can find such water tanks in front of a lot of restaurants which serve fresh fish and shell fish. The upper case is abalone while the lower is inhabited with sea water snails.
the landscape quickly changed to farmland with rice patties, wheat fields and a scenic mountain range.

After 1.5h I arrived at the Gurye bus terminal were I was picked up by Mr. Choi, the WWOOF host. At the farm I was greeted by two Japanese WWOOFers, Hashimoto san and Yumiko san. Friday was an off day so I headed of to nearby Oh San (Mount Oh), at 531m more a hill than a mountain. I am posting some pictures from that hike. You can see that Gurye is located in a mountain valley with Korea's second highest mountain Jiri San in close vicinity. This one I plan to climb up to on Tuesday. Due to its vast range this will take 2-3 days. I'm looking forward to it, although it will probably rain. Koreans commonly say that staying for a while on the slopes of this mountain will transform foolish people into wise ones. Let"s see if that works for me ;-)

Oh, I actually did some real farm work yesterday. The farm produces seedlings amongst other things so we packed and delivered trays of rice seedlings to rice paddies. It required to wade in knee deep rice
Greenhouse GuryeGreenhouse GuryeGreenhouse Gurye

This is the greenhouse on the farm I am staying at. They mainly grow seedlings of rice but also paprika and chilly.
fields. Yes, rice is being grown in water covered mud fields. You might have seen it in movies but I waded in some of them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Mount OhMount Oh
Mount Oh

A small mountain in front of the house
Rice PattiesRice Patties
Rice Patties

Rice fields everywhere.
Rice SeedlingsRice Seedlings
Rice Seedlings

The seedlings are grown in trays and then planted in the patties.
Wheat on the RoadWheat on the Road
Wheat on the Road

he road is nice and flat. So why not use it for drying wheat?
Grave on the mountainGrave on the mountain
Grave on the mountain

You can find many such graves near mountains. German authorities would probably freak out if something like that would happen in Germany.
Buddhist TempleBuddhist Temple
Buddhist Temple

Near the mountain top
ShinglesShingles
Shingles

These shingles could be found everywhere on the temple property. It listed name, adress and wishes.
My Personal ShingleMy Personal Shingle
My Personal Shingle

So I created my own. Only found out later the it would cost me 10000 Won.
Buddhist Worship RoomBuddhist Worship Room
Buddhist Worship Room

You can see fruit and rice cakes for sacrifice ... and a bottle of Soju schnaps (that"s the green bottle in the left most corner)
The FarmThe Farm
The Farm

Do you see the greenhouse (blue and white building) near the middle of the picture. That's the farm I am staying at.
ParagliderParaglider
Paraglider

There is a take of platform at mount Oh
SummitSummit
Summit

I am getting used to sitting on top of mountains
ChillysChillys
Chillys

Koreans just love chillys.
Farm Worker in Rice PattyFarm Worker in Rice Patty
Farm Worker in Rice Patty

Imagine doing that all day...
Hairy ChestHairy Chest
Hairy Chest

Admittedly I don't have one :-)


Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb