Day 9 - 16


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeollabuk-do » Jeonju » Duckjin-dong
July 3rd 2010
Published: July 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Boryeong, Jeonju und Jinan



English below

Nach Seoul ging ich zu Daechon Beach (Boryeong). Um Mitte Juli ist dies der Ort an dem jeder feiert, da das jährliche Schlamm-Festival dort stattfindet. Als ich ankam hat es natuerlich geregnet. Somit habe ich mich entschlossen nach Jeonju zu gehen.

Ich hatte eine interessante Erfahrung als ich in Boryeong angekommen bin. Ich hatte meine Unterkunft nicht voraus geplannt, da ich mir sicher war dass ich dort ein Hotelzimmer finden werde wenn ich ankomme. Sobald ich aus dem Bus ausgestiegen bin, hat ein koreanischer Mann mich angesprochen um zu fragen ob ich ein Zimmer reserviert hatte. In weniger als einer Minute saß ich in einem Auto mit 5 anderen koreanischen Mädchen um zu einem Motel zu fahren. Das alles war sehr seltsam, jedoch hatte ich ein Motelzimmer in kürzester Zeit.


Jeonju ist bekannt fuer das Folgende:

1. Es hat eines der wenigen verbleibenden Hanok Dörfer. Während des Krieges wurden die Meisten zerstört.

2. Der Bibimbap, eines der koreanisch traditionellen Gerichte, stammt aus Jeonju. Absolut köstlich.

3. Der erste König, Taejo, der Joeson-Dynastie wurde in Jeonju geboren.

4. Jeondong-Kathedrale ist eine der ersten christlichen Kathedralen, die in Jeonju gebaut wurde.


Ich hatte einen schoenen Tag im Hanok Dorf. Vor allem das Probieren von den koeniglichen Sueßigkeiten hat mir gefallen;-). Diese sind auf den Straßen von Korea aus Honig und Mehl per Hand zu bereitet. Es ist Schade, dass ich keine Kamera habe. Das Zubereiten von diesen Bonbons koennte ich nicht in Wortern beschreiben.


Den Nachmittag habe ich mit anderen Koreanern im Omakdae Gebäude verbracht. Dies ist wo Koreaner ihr Mittagsschlaefchen halten. Dies fand ich natuerlich sehr entspannend.:-)


Während meines Aufenthalts in Jeonju ging ich auch zum Maisan-Park in Jinan um den Pferd-Ohr-Berg zu sehen. Auf den Bildern wird es einem deutlicher warum Koreaner diese Berg so benannt haben. Ich besuchte auch den Tapsa-Tempel. Dies wurde eine Touristenattraktion aufgrund der Steintuerme die ein Moench namens Yi Kap-Myong erstellt hat.

Ich denke, das war es. Ich bin ein bisschen enttaeuscht, dass ich nicht länger am Strand bleiben konnte. Macht aber nichts, da ich mir sicher bin dass ich genuegend Moeglichkeiten haben werde um Strand und Sonne zu genießen.

Bye Bye.



Boryeong, Jeonju and Jinan



After Seoul I went to Daechon Beach (Boryeong). Around mid July this is the place to be as the annual mud festival takes place. But when I got there all I got was rain, so I decided to move towards a less rainy area, Jeonju.
I did experience one interesting thing as I arrived in Boryeong. I hadn't planned my accomodation before arrival as I was sure that I would find a room when I get there. The minute I got off the bus a Korean man spoke to me and asked me if I had a reservation. After some bargaining and before I even was able to think I was sitting in a car with 5 other Korean girls going to a Motel. At first it felt that this was really weird, but I had a motel room in no time.

There are about 4 unique facts about Jeonju.
1. It has one of the few remaining hanok villages. During the war most got destroyed.
2. The bibimbap, one of Korea's tratidional dishes, orignated in Jeonju. Absolutely delicious.
3. The first king of the Joeson dynasty was born in Jeonju, King Taejo.
4. Jeondong Cathedral is one of the first christian cathedrals that was built in Jeonju.

I
Buddhist Temple drum Buddhist Temple drum Buddhist Temple drum

used to drum away your sins.
had an amazing day just by walking around the hanok district and enjoying the royal sweets. These are handmade on the streets of Korea out of honey and flower. It's a shame I don't have a camera as it is too difficult to describe how it is being made, but very interesting to watch.

The afternoon I spent resting with other Korean's on the Omakdae building, where they go for an afternoon nap. I certainly enjoyed that part of the day.

During my stay in Jeonju I also went to see the Maisan Park in Jinan, the horse-ear mountain. By looking at the pictures you will see why they name it that way. I also visited the Tapsa Temple where a monk, named Yi Kap-myong, created those stone towers just by stacking them.

I think that was it. I'm gutted that I couldn't stay longer by the beach. Never mind, I'm sure that there will be plenty of opportunities.

Bye Bye for now.



Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Boryeong BeachBoryeong Beach
Boryeong Beach

Starfish seeking water.
Boryeong BeachBoryeong Beach
Boryeong Beach

Starfish at night
Boryeong BeachBoryeong Beach
Boryeong Beach

Very cloudy when I arrived. Typical!!!
Jeondong CathedralJeondong Cathedral
Jeondong Cathedral

One of the first christian churches built in Korea.
Boryeong BeachBoryeong Beach
Boryeong Beach

Mini lobster fighting his way through sand.
Royal SweetRoyal Sweet
Royal Sweet

It's interesting to watch it being made as it only contains flower, honey and an almond filling.
Hanok Village in JeonjuHanok Village in Jeonju
Hanok Village in Jeonju

Remains the only place in South Korea with an entire hanok village.


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb