Change of plans...


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeongsangbuk-do » Gyeongju
May 28th 2007
Published: May 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Korea3Korea3Korea3

Rare sighting: Little kids practicing air-raid drills incase North Korea ever tries to attack them.
Just updating while I have a minute: Our plans have made a slight change, instead of being in China right now (like I originally thought) we are now in South Korea checking-out a 2000 year old history of the Korean people. Amazing, it's just too bad that the Japanesse burned the place down a couple hundred years ago in an invasion attempt. But the Bulguksa Temple has been recreated with great attention for details. I hope to be in Seol tomorrow; but I now have little, if any confindence in our planning. There is a ferry from the North of South Korea that we should be able to get to China that way, but I will update this soon (hopefully) with more details and pictures.
While we are here, I would also like to go get out to the boarder between North and South Korea; I guess it can get pretty intense sometimes... I hope Randy doesn't do anything foolish and start a new Korean war... He is always trying to get us into trouble...
I am jumping around a bit because I don't know how much time I have, but the ferry from Shimonoseki, Japan to Busan,
Shimonoseki1Shimonoseki1Shimonoseki1

Our boat to Korea. As seen from the highest tourist tower in Japan.
South Korea was not too bad. I felt more like I was on a cheap cruise (as the pictures will prove if I ever get a chance to put them on). We slept on the floor with about 20 Korean visitors to Japan. The 'Korean' breakfast we had on the boat was horrible, so if you ever find yourself on a freight-like ferry in the middle of the Japanesse Sea... don't eat the Korean breakfast, maybe try the 'American' instead.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Shimonoseki2Shimonoseki2
Shimonoseki2

Randy infront of the highest tourist tower in Japan.
Korea1Korea1
Korea1

Me! Excited to be in my American tourist outfit all set for a nice 'cruise'.
Korea2Korea2
Korea2

Randy: A giant among tiny rocks stacked in the back of a recreated 2000 year-old temple.
Palace1Palace1
Palace1

Walking through the gates of another great historic building...
Palace2Palace2
Palace2

Huge palace, 2000 year-old history,one of the most beautiful things I have seen, just the usual...


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb