Traveling Perspective


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeonggi-do
May 27th 2009
Published: May 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A joke... Korean ESL in a nutshellA joke... Korean ESL in a nutshellA joke... Korean ESL in a nutshell

written by Cassie's students
Before leaving on this adventure, the largest problems Cassie and I had were tying up all the loose ends of our lives that would allow us to take advantage of this opportunity. The house, Denali, finances, and seeing everyone before we left were all necessary and/or important to us. Recently, the obligatory question arises in almost all of our conversations is that of our plans for next year. We will be returning home, Korea was never more than a one year commitment in our eyes.

It was never difficult to miss home despite all of the wonderful things we are doing and experiencing while being abroad. The typical dream list people assemble often contains things like, ‘live abroad,’ or ‘travel the world,’ ‘see the wonders of the world,’ or ‘become a published writer.’ These, in one way or another, are exactly what we have done. However, these monumental milestones can be offset, inevitably, by what we are missing back home. This has been very apparent lately.

I say this because lately, we have been keeping up to speed with much personal news from Mee-Guk (our favorite Korean word, meaning USA). I had the pleasure to see my nephew Brady
Wired KoreaWired KoreaWired Korea

literally everyone on the subway is doing something electronic- crazy
on the webcam who is now almost 10 months old and a completely different person than when I saw him 8 months ago. Both of our grandmother’s have been in the hospital recently. On June 20th, I will be missing one of my best friend’s wedding. I had a conversation with my friend Lindsay about this early on in my time here, and we concluded that an unfortunate side effect of traveling is the missing of things/home either good or bad, and that I should be ready for that. We also agreed how that is a healthy side effect. Missing people keeps you grounded, connected, alive.

One thing I wasn’t prepared for, besides the ones I’ve already mentioned, was the news coming out of Philipsburg. I’d like to share a story about my friend and old superintendant (I guess I should say former, since he’s not old by any measures). I taught with Mike the last four years in P-Burg, and the experiences are still very fresh in my mind. He is a mix of fire and humility, iron fist and spirit, as many people reading this have first hand knowledge of, and all necessary for running a school district at high standards. Seven years ago, he battled for his life against a leukemia diagnosis, a bone marrow transplant, and came out the other side, relatively alright… a fight with his health that will always continue. It was the inspiration of his story that encouraged my friend Ray and me to climb Mt. Rainier last June. A sort of “seize the day” moment on our parts…

Well, not too long ago he took his third grade daughter to the doctor because she was getting severe headaches and, at times, acting inebriated- not behavior you’d expect from a rosy cheeked girl running hot laps around a playground. The doctor told Mike and his wife the news no one wants to hear; their daughter had a brain tumor.

Mike’s wife really pulled at my emotions in the blog she wrote, that she is using to keep friends and family updated. I couldn’t make it passed the word ‘AGAIN’ the first time I read this entry. Knowing them, their past, seeing them struggle with the aftermath as a family, and now, well, I’ll have her explain…



Friday, May 22, 2009
Today was full of many emotions all over the spectrum. This morning we found ourselves in a place that was way too familiar for Mike and I and brought back way too many memories, that I think for both of us had started to become distant memories. We were at the University of Washington Hospital where Mike had his transplant. Only today we were there for Sydney's appointment to get the ball rolling for her radiation treatments. I couldn't believe that I was walking through those doors AGAIN!



Staying positive is a recipe for wonderful things. In Sydney’s case, she is finding great joy, amidst the rehab and treatment, in chocolate shakes and Funniest Home Videos. For us, it’s the trips, the laughs, the (good) students, the growth, the shenanigans we are doing and having done to us, that make the valleys seem not quite so deep. I have learned more about myself and our world in the short time here than I thought I would ever in my life.
Cass and I would just like everyone to know that we always miss and love everyone wherever you or we happen to be.

P.S. Happy Memorial Day… mom, we are completely safe, even with the underground whatevers they’ve been exploding up north… here are some recent pictures of things since we got home… and, finally, please don’t forget to vote for my article on intravelmag.com (if you need any more info shoot me a message and I’ll help- it’s pretty easy)

Annyong Hi Kaseyo! Sarang hey yo!



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Korean WineryKorean Winery
Korean Winery

yes, there is such a thing


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb