New Journey to Pyeongtaek Area, Camp Humphrey's


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeonggi-do » Pyeongtaek
May 29th 2012
Published: May 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This adventure journal is once again for those dear friends, family and those whom I have not yet had the pleasure of meeting in my journey within this lifetime. We have now journeyed from the city life of Seoul to country life of the Pyeongtaek (Camp Humphrey's) surrounding area. As I ponder my thoughts to describe this move the crisp memory of Zsa Zsa Gabor playing her amazing role on Green Acres comes vividly into my mind. This brings a sweet smile to my face as I recall her portrait of the city girl re-aclimating to the life of a country girl...LOL!

Prior to leaving Seoul I was blessed to become better acquainted with the areas of Insadong, Sandong & Hangang River in S. Korea. It is so funny how the human spirit becomes engaged and inspired to learn more about an area when knowing you are soon to leave. I discovered some amazing restaurants, relaxing hangouts, a temple and museum of which each was filled with it's own unique style.

It was fun spending my last days there with In-Yeong, Silenia & Carolyne. We had some amazing times over a two week period.

May 17, Spent the day with In-Yeong as she took me to the 'Gilsangsa Temple', 'Gansong Art Museum' and the famous art studio of local artist, 'Hyojae'. It was a beautiful peaceful day. I highly recommend others to visit this area near Sandang.

May 18, discovered the joys of 'The Bungalow' in Itaewon. Relaxed in a swing which hung above a sandy surface while eating fresh fruit from carved out pineapple. Nothing beats sipping on 'Sex on the Beach' with your feet softly wisping in the sand as you gently swing. Great place to relax and unwind.

May 19, Seoul Chinese Lantern Parade. We enjoyed our evening with Chandler, Carolyne, Michael, Silenia, Bob, Kandy, Tom and Maria.

May 20, Attended the graduation of a very dear Korean friend who prefers her name to be left anonymous. So very proud to see her achieve her goal of MBA.

May 22, Went to dinner with dear friends, Steven and In-Yeong at the Cas Italiano SA in Itaewon. Great food with a good ambiance. We also had staff accompanying our meal by playing the piano. Another great find!

May 24, Met In-Yeong at the Radio Garden in Itaewon. The patio view is amazing. They have great food and drinks. The chocolate martinis are on my top 10 list of discovered drinks in Itaewon.

May 25, Enjoyed the Hangang River cruise with Steven, In-Yeong, Michael and Silenia. Great food, great friends and the breath taking display of the Mapo Bridge lighted fountains. After our cruise we visited a bar at the top of the 68 Building. The view was truly a memory maker.

May 26, Moved from the apartment in Seoul into Oscar Ville in Songhwa-ri, near Pyeongtaek (Camp Humphrey's). Our day began a little rough. First, the security in our old building in Seoul shared they would not allow the movers in as they stated they had not been notified of our move out and there was some type of elevator fee that must be paid. So as you can imagine between the language barrier and trying to reach the correct contact person within Asian Tigers this became a little challenging. Once this was straightened out (after an hour of negotiations), the movers packed us. One more glitch occurred unexpectedly that I prefer not to mention prior to leaving Seoul. Now I want to share an only this can happen to Karen moment. We arrived at our new home. I followed the instructions saved on my phone per our realtor for gaining access to the building. The manager line rang and rang, after many attempts we gained access to the building of our new place. Our realtor came over to welcome us after we had already got inside. She ordered food for us to be delivered. Yippee, I am thinking. She asked if I want to go with her to test our remote cards at the downstairs entry, of course, 'I say'. I leave behind my purse and phone (huge mistake). Matt also leaves to move his car at the same time into the parking garage. While downstairs, our realtor noted our entry cards did not work so she communicated she would need to get those programmed later and return to us. While we are outside the front of our building the food delivery driver arrives with our lunch (it is now 3pm, feeling so hungry). I say goodbye to the realtorand then tell the delivery driver that I must go upstairs to get his money. He follows me. Then the fun really began, I could not recall the code for the front door to our apt. as this was in my phone now locked inside. Oh my, no money and now no phone to call the realtor or contact anyone to help us. I take our food over to a picnic table outside where another sweet couple is cooking out (Kesha just happens to know Matt from the job here). Matt has no KRW so he hands me his credit card. The food delivery driver who only speaks Korean is now wanting to take his card with him to his restaurant and proceeds to get on his motorcycle. The movers by now have arrived and want to begin moving our things in. Matt is fit to be tied as we have no way to get in, no phone number for our realtor, no KRW to pay for the food which is getting cold on the picnic table. At this point I am trying to hold it together to find solutions. The couple cooking out (blessed that the woman knew Matt from the project here) point out the Korean security guard who speaks some English. By now I am blocking the motorcycle food delivery driver with Matt's card in hand
Oscar VilleOscar VilleOscar Ville

Hey, that's our things below, they crane lifted them up to through the window on the 12th story...amazing!
and communicating to the Security Guard the importance of the driver not taking Matt's card with him. The Security guard then asked him in Korean to wait as I follow him to try to find the property manager. We had no success in finding the property manager. Now, Plan B, I requested the guard to ask for the delivery driver to come back later so I could pay him then also agreeing to add a nice tip as well. I am now totally feeling embarrassed After about 45 minutes of waiting we did get the number to access our building and apt. Whew just another challenge in this day of adventure. Now I can sit back and laugh as I recall the events of this memorable day.

May 29, Today was my first time of adventuring out on foot. It was a gorgeous day. I began my journey at 3 pm and arrived at my intended destination the Super Gym (Camp Humphrey's Fitness Center) by 6:00 pm. It was as always very interesting. Needless to say my feet are bit sore tonight. I meandered through the winding streets in Anjong-ri. Here the sidewalks are dusty from all of the construction projects. I am amazed at how fast things are improved overnight. One day there is no roadway, the next day, wallah a paved road. Impressive I must say! Along my path today I noted many realestate agencies, older looking restaurants, older buildings, a couple of churches and many extremely small local business establishments. Overtime I have no doubt these will soon become expanded just as they are in Seoul. Upon my entry through the main gate, I recalled the many times of gaining access through security on the Haven for Hope Campus in San Antonio as part of hosting tours. Here the security is much higher than at Yongsan. I had no idea just how far the fitness center was from the main gate, oh my goodness! This was a workout in itself. I kept my steady pace of walking fast as I continued along the path determined to reach my intended destination. Directional signing could be much better for those whom are not accustomed to finding their way within this expansive area. Joyfully I found my way and was blessed to meet a very nice man whom shared his wisdom and insights with me about the gym and surrouding area. In this life if we keep our minds and hearts open it is amazing how many unexpected blessings come our way.

This is a very quiet area. In the mornings you can hear the rooster crow and the crickets chirping at night. There are fields surrounding us of crops and rice patties. One day I am sure I will have the opportunity to join working the Koreans working in one of the fields nearby. This sums up my recent experiences thus far. More to come later! 😊

Advertisement



5th September 2014

Oscar Ville
im headed to Korea next week & browsing for apartments :) How did you like Oscar Ville? please email me pros or cons
5th September 2014

Moving to Oscarville
Hi, we personally loved Oscarville. It really depends on the owner and the realtor you are working with. We personally had a wonderful experience there. Best of luck. Be blessed, Karen

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb