The beginning of my epic Korean Adventure


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gangwon-do » Chuncheon » Taegye-dong
April 4th 2011
Published: February 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Annyong!

I'VE TOUCHED DOWN IN SOUTH KOREA BABY!

So, I arrived at my EPIK orientation in Daejeon after 16 hours of travelling! That night, I met my awesome roomy Cateline (a lovely Irish girl) , and she took me out on the town (this is another big city a couple of hours out of Seoul) where I met heaps of expats. And got so many emails! ha, gotta make friends somehow.

BUT anywho, onwards and upwards, got taken to my apartment last night. And can I just say WOW! This lovely Korean lady Young - my co-teacher - who I'll be teaching with...said it was as big as her apartment (that houses her famiy of 4!) but my god , she wasn't wrong! I'm talking THREE BEDROOMS, a big living area, two balconies....overlooking Chencheon city...very nice! I feel so grown up having this mint apartment to myself. I must admit, coming home last night to a lonesome apartment, with no TV that worked was pretty scary!!!!!!!! Actually, I was about to burst into tears.....BUT something stopped me. And now I'm getting excited about decorating the place.

But yes, so insanely big apartment for one check.

Been at school today 😊 It's a cool school, I'll be teaching co-ed 15 and 16 year olds - High School for us in New Zealand, Middle School here in Korea. Buzzzzyy! I'm bracing myself for preparing for these lessons...BUT I'm sure I'll do it, hell I have to!

Just trying to suss out my life at the moment really.....BUT I'm gathering my weekends will be spent living the dream, and holidaying around South Korea. While weeks I'm very happy to teach, chill, and see this great province.

It's cool as there are mountains and bloody lakes everywhere...and in winter (when it's snowing and I'm struggling for a reason to go on) the scenery is breath-taking apparently!

My Korean - well I can say hello! But that's all I've got so far. BUT by hell or high water, I will learning Korean. Because it is very popular here to go out to dinner in a group, and Koreans like to be polite and ask you out...BUT what this means is I want to be able to hold a conversation with them...so must learn Korean. Oh it's exciting! And going to be damn crazy chilling in my apartment, learning korea!

WHO AM I?!?!?!?!?!

This morning I was also registered as an 'Alien' AND had to undergo the most intense medical exam...I'm talking blood tests, 'samples' of you know what and a FULL BODY x-ray!! Just to get a 'bill of clean health certificate'

ALAS, this place is amazing though. And people have been so friendly. I know there are going to be many challenges, and I tell you..the sooner I learn the language the better!

MY first offical teaching day is Monday! Hello Monday. and I will be creating a slideshow of pictures of me, my family and friends to present to the class, apparently they are VERY excited about me starting at the school....

I know I keep repeating, but actually can't believe I'm here...Wow how life can twist and turn. I'm sure I'm still jet lagged, but might just take it easy tonight...as it's only midday here atm, and hit Seoul tomorrow for a crazy day/night. I tell you this place never sleeps.....

MY school is cool too, very big, five floors with big outdoor area (yes. I'll be attempting to teach them Netball that's for sure!)
And of course Tiny Dancer!!!

Hello 2011 I'm ready for you.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb