two sides of the same coin


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Chungcheongnam-do
April 24th 2012
Published: April 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I first met Jess on the roof of her apartments during a barbeque. First impression? This chick is cool. She had tats, tight curls cut short, and I don't remember what she was wearing but if I go ahead and guess black, I can't be too far off. We had some crazy times dancing in bars and snowboarding together, but we didn't become good friends until we'd known each other about a year.

That's when we started bitches be cookin' with the other girls in our town, a time once a week that we would spend drinking, cooking, crafting, listening to music, and talking shit. I came to see that Jess was brash, energetic, and suprisingly girly. She was also highly motivating and it was because of her that I started doing pilates, yoga, and other workouts I'd avoided in favor of running. We also signed up for a writing class with Matador Travel and would proof-read each other's pieces, giving positive feedback. Unlike me, Jess is not a person who overshares her feelings, and reading her assignments gave me a rare glimpse of an insightful, strong, and caring person who I am evermore proud to call a friend.

This past weekend, we sat hungover, from card games and dancing, on the ground of her boyfriend Mike's apartment on yoga mats, discussing the future.

"Can you imagine ever working for SOMEONE again?" asked Mike.

Jess and I made noises of disapproval. Neither of us answer to anyone at our jobs. The closest thing to a "boss" we have is the principal, who I bow to every once in awhile and sometimes we discuss if I have eaten breakfast or feel cold this morning. Sometimes if I want to leave school, I ask my Korean mother or co-teacher and she grants my wish with a kindly smile.

"That sounds absolutely horrible, we should just start our own hostel" said Jess.

"One for people that want to be healthy on the road. With a gym and stuff!" I screamed.

We both squealed and kicked our feet in the air like teeny boppers. Plans for a name, location (San Francisco or Cambodia), activities (yoga classes by Jess, bike tours and airport pickup from me) and inteior design began. Mike shook his head at us, but helpfully suggested the name "One Night Stand Hostel".

I love Jess because she sees all the opportunity and wonder that life has to offer and she truly believes in improving herself and the world in every way that she can. Definitely not set in her ways, as she proved by being in a ridiculous play that Margo and I wrote. She wears black and exercise clothes nine times out of ten, is full of sass, and likes movies like Bad Boys and listens to music like like Easy E. She enjoys hanging out with bus drivers, tailors, and Family Mart workers. She can't say the word Prague correctly. She drinks vodka on the rocks. We are nothing alike and yet we are two sides of the same crazy coin.





Good luck with the new job Jessie J. Hanbok will miss you <3

Advertisement



Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb