1st week in Busan, South Korea!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
March 30th 2015
Published: March 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

1st week in Busan, South Korea has been exciting and stressful. I'm here to teach English in Okchun Elementary School which is located in Saha-Gu are of Busan. Busan is in the South East of South Korea, about 30 miles west of Japan. It is warmer in Busan than Seoul and is the second largest city, behind Seoul. Busan is known for the beaches and large ports.

I came here because I wanted to learn, explore, and give back to the people of the world. I hope to learn a new language, teach a language that I love, and meet new friends. My goal is to grow and become a better person while teaching English to children here. I also hope to travel and see amazing places while out here.

What have I learned in my 1st week here? I've learned a few things. I've learned that it is OK to be afraid when in a new place, but you have to have courage to go there. I've learned that sometimes, in a new place, you may feel lonely and that is OK. I've learned that you MUST be able to adapt and try new things if you want to survive and make a new place your home. I've learned that when you have very little you appreciate the few things that you do have. I've learned that you can live with just a few things and it is quite liberating and freeing. I've learned that spending your time alone leaves you to do things with patience and accuracy. I've learned that small things can make you laugh. For example, a little song that plays at the end of the wash cycle. I've learned that people will embrace you and be kind, if you embrace them and their culture.

Interesting side notes: *People wear face masks often-There are 2 reasons for this; 1) Illness is not spread 2) Keep bad odor of sewage away. *Only foreigners walk over the grates in the street but learn not to very quickly. See reason for wearing face masks. *Sometimes you hear a very loud noise and want to run. Don't be alarmed! It is just the person next to you clearing their throat. *Cells phones are permitted, everywhere. *Heated floors are amazing and should installed in all places, everywhere. *Open showers are wonderful because you can clean your body and the bathroom floor at once. *Air drying clothes is better than a dryer. Why? They hold their shape and color much better. *Kimchi is served at every meal *People drive really well here. *If you don't look Korean, get ready for the 'side-look,' everywhere. *If I didn't know better, and judged by the outfits, I'd swear half the population are expert mountaineers!

Week 2- here I come!

Advertisement



30th March 2015

Thank you!
Thank you Sheena.

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb