End of the Day


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
May 4th 2004
Published: May 4th 2004
Edit Blog Post

eremy writing....Well it is the end of my second full day and I am tired! These kids are wild, but I feel like a bit of a rock star. Today I got on the kindy bus and the kids screamed my name like I was one of the Beatles in their prime. They mobbed me and grabbed my hands. Everywhere Jen goes people ask her if she is a movie star. And for the record, even though I feel like a rock star, I realize they are probably making fun of me-at least the teenagers we see in the streets. The little ones are too angelic-I think. I guess it is the novelty of seeing someone different. The vast majority of people I pass on the way to work are Asian. I think so far I have actually passed ONLY Asians when walking to and from work. So we, as white people, are kind of like attractions at the zoo.....Tomorrow is a holiday so we are excited about that. We plan to do some exploring and probably sleep late, too. Yesterday we joined a gym and got set up with a personal training. The Asian way of personal training is very different from the American way. We went from machine to machine, only doing one set at each stop, the male personal trainer touching me in very familiar ways at each stop-a cultural thing, but still takes some getting used to. Better him touching me than Jen, though....We got home and watched Chic in the City, or Sex and the City as you know it (English with Korean subtitles). I fell asleep during the O. C., but Jen just had to see what was going to happen with Seth and Marissa. I am going home now, Jen is still working, have a happy Children's Day everyone!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.7kb