Sweet Potato Pizza


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
June 26th 2009
Published: June 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We got back late last night from the Transformers movie, so I slept in a little bit (got up at 7, haha). We got ready and our schedule has been pushing back to 10am lately, but at 8:45ish, Ben came in and told us it was moved back to 9, so we were late to our Korean lesson, but we learned fruit names and the other way to count in Korean. Stella is the name of the lady who teaches us, and she is really nice and funny. But, sometimes, it can get tricky because she says "don't forget" a lot...when we just learned the word. And sometimes, she will point to a word in Korean and tell us to read it....like we would know. See, with some languages, you can figure it out because they use letters in their alphabet. But, the Korean language is characters, so we pretty much just look at it and go huuuh? haha.
Anyway, she wanted to take us out for the afternoon. Mr. Chung is the director of this entire program with ISU and BNUE, so we see him every day. He took us all out to a Chinese restaurant. I don't eat meat on Friday, but when it is a dire situation and there is nothing else to eat, I eat it. Well, all I had at the Chinese restaurant was raw onions and jasmine tea. When they brought out this delicious looking chicken, I took one piece and that was all I would allow myself. It was so good. Then, they brought out this vegetebale stuff that I just picked through and these noodles. But, when they handed you the bowl, all you saw was something that looked like mud. The noodles were under it, and the soupy mud was the sauce. Nope, didn't eat much of that, either. Needless to say, I didn't eat much.

Stella then took Kylie and me to drive around another university where she teaches part-time, to her husand's clinc, and to her apartment complex. She took us to her sister's house, which is in the same complex, and we met her sister, her mom, and her niece, who is 8. They ordered Dominoes sweet potato pizza. I realized I do not like sweet potatoes.
So, when we got there, Ji-Yoon (her niece), was really shy and did not want to speak English with us. Well, this girl is like every single other Korean child: a freakin' prodigy. I suggested alternating lines with her when she whipped out her English workbooks, and the girl read like a pro! She is in first grade here, and she read the word "delicious!" She reads better than third graders back home! I was so impressed. She then tested Kylie and me on words like conversation and especially. The girl knows her stuff. She then played some piano for us, and she even noticed that Kylie made a mistake on one of the songs. After that, she showed us some craft things she made in the after-school program (she alternates between art and computer twice a week) and took us to her library of a room and read a book in English and then read a book to us in Korean. Sheesh!

Stella wanted to take us shopping, and Ji-Yoon came along. We went to the Busan Tower Observatory and saw a nice view, then walked around the downtown area for a bit. Then, we went to a Japanese restaurant where they ate sausage and I tried this egg quiche thing and ate it with Ji-Yoon. Yea. I shared my meal with an 8-year-old.
My actual meal was a bowl of vegetables that you mix rice with. It was alright. After dinner, Ji-Yoon wanted Krispy Kreme and I haven't had Krispy Kreme in such a long time, since we don't have it by us. I got the original (aren't original anything always the best?) and wow! It melted in my mouth; it was sooo scrumptiously delicious!

Well, I won't be able to write tomorrow because I'm going to Seoul, the capital of South Korea. It'll be a long and busy day, but what days here aren't? We can only be there for one day. The professor doesn't want me to stay overnight, since Ben is coming with me. Suuuper conservative here.

P.S. RIP Michael Jackson.
Too bad you couldn't "BEAT IT." (not funny?)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb