Busan Biennale Part Two


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
November 8th 2006
Published: November 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Okey dokey, so last week I decided to check out the second part of the the Busan Biennale with two of my most favouritest students, Angela and Chloe. All of the classes change every two months but Angela and Chloe's class held a revolt and demanded the class should stay the same and I should still be their teacher. It's really cool, I teach them at 11am every morning and I would now consider every member of the class my friend- probably too much actually- they get to know it all! But it's awesome to walk into a room full of friendly faces and have a good moan about life, love (or lack of it) and everything.
Anyhoo off we trotted to Centum Park in Haeundae to see the sculpture exhibition.

When we arrived we really thought we were in the wrong place. The park was a mess, uprooted trees everywhere, the grass was near enough dead and there were no signs indicating that this was the Biennale at all. After asking a passer by it transpires that this WAS the Biennale- I couldn't believe it!The Biennale apparently has a pretty good rep, people travel to see it, several artists
Midget and AngelaMidget and AngelaMidget and Angela

Not sure what the ridiculous pose is about but hey!
work were on display and they couldn't even tidy up the park?!Apparently, according to my Korean/American co-worker 'Welcome to Korea'.

It was no Gateshead International Flower Festival I tell you!

Here are some pics- I decided art was more fun interactive.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The precarious nature of being...The precarious nature of being...
The precarious nature of being...

...or really a dead tree- take your pick.
SculptureSculpture
Sculpture

I quite liked this- there was the moment of 'is that a real dude?' which was pretty cool.
They really knew...They really knew...
They really knew...

...how to capture the essence of death and decay.
I really really loved this..I really really loved this..
I really really loved this..

when I get back to the UK I'm gonna get one of these in my back garden.
Random picRandom pic
Random pic

I'd be cheesed off if someone did this to me too!


8th November 2006

sexy lexa
look good babe - I like the tit shot
11th November 2006

Just for you mamma ciao x
20th November 2006

loving the blog
not sure if this will work - i'm not use to adding comments only editing them!! been catching up on your travel and adventures and they are looking fantastic - you are putting us to shame with your hilarious blogs and funny photos. i keep trying to get james to dress up as Captain Light, malay warriors and strawberries (influenced by the Cameron Highlands) but to no avail...grumpy sod. i promise to make a muppet of myself to liven up our blogs in the future!they are so lacking in style! anyway, hope you are enjoying the teaching, it looks like you are. i'm getting envious even though i'm gallavanting around asia as we speak too, must be lovely to be doing something so fulfiling and having pupils that really appreciate your teaching? you may have inspired a joann-goes-teaching' trip in the future! that's once i have got off my lazy arse and got a job out here first i so i can make it home next year! It must be nice to be grounded somewhere and have a flat - even one with a garbage-collection problem? (worry not, this is an all over Asian thing from what we have seen and smelt, not just Korea!) anyhow, better hop, bed in hostel number 28 awaits...hope things keep going well honey and give us a shout if you ever need any late night messenger chatting when everyone in england is sleeping, and we are all wide awake in Oz and Korea! lots of love jo (and james!)

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb