Busan Part 1


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan » Geumjeongsan
September 18th 2012
Published: September 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Having made it safely out of Gyeongju - despite it blowing a gale and sheeting rain - and through the eye of the storm to the port city of Busan, I was sightly relieved/strangely disappointed to find that the storm had already passed Busan and, although it was still a little windy, it was dry.

I had, partly because of the typhoon, booked myself a room in a proper hotel as a little treat and, frankly, spent most of my two days in Busan relaxing.

I did, however, manage to make it to Busan's Chinatown so I had my Chinese food fix - well, Chinese food Korean-style, at least.

And I also made it to Jalgachi fish market, which is a fairly famous bustling chaos of place that sells anything (and I mean anything) that comes out of the sea, displayed alive in tanks outside small alcoves run by formidable looking persons dressed in an eye smarting shade of yellow and red.

The market seemed to be divided into two halves - one where you just buy fish and the other where you pick out your fish before they prepare it for you to eat on site. Of course, this is far from the only fish market in Busan, in fact most of the streets (certainly the ones on the seafront) are lined with small stalls/restaurants. I suppose that's one way of guaranteeing that your fish dinner is fresh.

I was intrigued by the different tanks, and as well as some fish I recognised (plus lobsters, crabs, mussels and the odd squid and octopus), there were many, many creatures that I did not! I'm due back in Busan after my trip to Jeju Island and I have promised myself that, as well as actually doing some sightseeing, I will return to the market to eat. Wish me luck!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Book vending machineBook vending machine
Book vending machine

If only they had these in the UK!


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb