getting to know my new home


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Tiong Bahru
August 3rd 2013
Published: August 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

I have began exploring my new home a little bit. One of my first observations of my part of the city is the smell. There is a constant slightly pungent, slightly pleasant smell I think I will miss when I leave. I would guess it is due in part to the hawker center and market across the street. Hawker centers are, apparently, a Singapore staple and the place to go to get good, cheap food. This morning after having breakfast at an Indian restaurant who's name escapes me at the moment I decided to venture to the NTU campus. A short walk from my hostel I hopped on the mass rapid transit (MRT) train and was on my way. This was my first experience on the MRT and I was quite impressed. It's fast and cheap and practically idiot proof. I would say completely idiot proof but I'm sure I'll prove them wrong at some point. After getting to campus I wandered a bit and found the bookstore. Tried to buy my books but realized I forgot my list. I spent the next few hours meandering my way around, trying to familiarize myself with the surroundings. The campus is very beautiful but kind of confusing. Most of the buildings are terraced and connected by covered walkways. It's not quite as easy as seeing the building you want to get to and just walking to it. One has to navigate a labyrinth of terraces and walkways. At times it felt like I was in a MC Escher painting. I'm used to universities at home naming their buildings after distinguished professors or contributors. The names at NTU are very direct. Most buildings are named something like Block 1, Block 2, Library 3, Canteen 2, Residence Hall 4, etc. I would imagine those that aren't named in this manner are named after someone who has contributed greatly in one way or another to the university.

Later I headed to Arab Street with my roommate Harsh and a few people from the hostel. By the time we got there it was dark so I only got one picture. Will go back again in the day time for better pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



3rd August 2013

Happy wandering!
It looks like you're seeing some very neat things already!
4th August 2013

Great photos !Glad you made it safe and sound . Looking forward to more!
4th August 2013

Great start to your blog Ben. Glad you arrived safely. Can\'t wait to read and learn more over the following months.
5th August 2013

Good to hear from Singapore
Hi Ben! So happy to see you have started your postings and to know you are starting to get acquainted with Singapore. Look forward to all that you have to share. We have had a good week with Annie here and enjoyed having your mom and Josh join us for the weekend. Have a happy week ahead! Love and Hugs!

Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb