Visiting the Southern Most Point of Asia


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Sentosa Island » Siloso Beach
January 6th 2009
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Singapore  Sling in Raffles Hotel, SingaporeSingapore  Sling in Raffles Hotel, SingaporeSingapore Sling in Raffles Hotel, Singapore

My first cocktail of my travels - what a way to start....
Singapore was interesting - not someplace I chose to go necessarily as it was more of a requirement for the stopover to Oz, but glad I stopped for a few days as it's a different place - such a mixture of different cultures, religions and cultures to create somewhere really unique. I loved staying in little India as it was a cool part of the city. The food is amazing - sampled as much as I could of course, but my appetite is smaller than when at home due to the heat and humidity.

Was very odd staying in a hostel for the first time - I'm sure I will get used to it over the coming months, but am loving the BA lounge at Singapore airport for my own personal shower and complimentary glass of red - god bless my Diageo earned airmiles!!

Didn't really know what to do with myself on the first full day in Singapore so mostly wandered around sweating in the heat just getting a feel for the place. What with the sweat, the swollen ankles from the heat/flights and the frizzy hair from the humidity and lack of hair products I am looking
Sentosa IslandSentosa IslandSentosa Island

Beach resort off Singapore
very attractive at the moment!

Had my curry served on a banana leaf on racecourse road in little India and went for an amazing massage thai style - the girl kneeled on me and walked up my spine (she was about a size 6!) - was very relaxed after that - think I will have a massage in each country I visit just for research purposes...

Met a couple of girls in my hostel and we went for a Singapore Sling at Raffles Hotel 'cos you just gots to' as Michael would say - it was beautiful of course, but it should be for 13 quid - still, we moved to another bar after that for slightly cheaper mojitos - nice!

Lou and I went to Sentosa Island together on the cable car - recommended by Ally's dad and worth the view. The beach is stunning and we walked to the southern most point of Asia for a photo moment.

Oz calling now, so heading to Brisbane to see Janet - will be nice to have somebody meet me at the eirport on th eother side of the world.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



12th January 2009

I feel like im there with you !
Im loving your blog, it feels like im there living it with you doll. You must try cherry ripe chocolate bars they are great! Leona xx

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0963s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb