Ant searches for food in Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Raffles Marina
July 18th 2013
Published: July 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It has been a while that I have travelled and it will be a while till I travel. Therefore, my adventure has been now to discover new tastes in the city. It is a safe bet since I can be brave as I know I can go home and rest in case something goes wrong! So lately, my favourite pass time has been going around Singapore on the internet and discovering new eateries. I tried ‘authentic’ British fish and chips which without vinegar was not tasty. Then went to try Chocolate Souffle (like Chocolate lava cake) for dinner at Max Brenner. The chocolate was indeed good but the vanilla ice cream was a miserly scoop and the whole thing cost equivalent to a three course meal! There was nice dinner of Chicken Dum Biryani at Saffron kitchen. I quite enjoyed the long basmati rice and delicate spicing. I am working with a young Chinese woman who has so kindly introduced me to Popiah (Veg roll with garlic sauce, boiled egg and slice of half prawn), rose milk with generous serving of ice and a soup noodle which I found quite bland). Another friend was so delayed at the bank that we hit the nearest foodcourt where we had a surprisingly tasty dish of Chicken laksa (boiled chicken cooked in fresh coconut milk with turmeric, chillies and some other yummy spices). I had noticed Vegan Burg a little off our route to the nearest Food court and gave it a try. It served amazing crispy soya burgers with seaweed chips and cool citron juice. One of our favourite but expensive places is Asian kitchen which serves the second best veg rolls (the best in my experience being a super-rich Vietnamese restaurant in Boat Quay). To top it all, we had chicken rice and popiah celebrations in office on one of those Fridays.

Food is meant to be enjoyed and in all the excitement, I find it falls all over me sometimes (like the creamy sauce from the vegan burger and the soup from Asian kitchen) and I need to hide my soiled tops in creative ways! My friend, an Argentinian is likewise and she had to invest in a new top after lunch! Food is a means to bond. The same Chinese colleague bought me a chocolate as I was craving for sweets. I remember, after I reached home after work, I decided to enjoy it. I put on a programme on Roman history on the History Channel and ate the chocolate. Suddenly, I found countless things poppinga and hitting the roof of my mouth. It was a unique sensation. I looked at the chocolate packet. It has jelly beans which were meant to pop. How tantalising! My fingers have become dextrous coordinating chop sticks. Interestingly, I need bread to go with the Potato curry and the Chicken curry I prepared at home and guess what, that very day there was a promotion going on in the city square where they were distributing free wholemeal bread. Guess, God fulfils all your wishes in most amazing ways. Amazing food never fails to bring a smile to my face 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.084s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb