Singapore: Little India and Hookah Lounge


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Raffles Marina
September 16th 2010
Published: September 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Lagnaa Indian FoodLagnaa Indian FoodLagnaa Indian Food

Spice level 1.5 for me. It goes up to 10 and no one has EVER finished a meal at level 10!
I woke up this morning at 5:30 am. and chose not to fight my internal clock. It was the earliest I've ever been to work 😊 Today was the first cloudy day. The rain is warm and the clouds are menacing. The thunder and lightning reminded me of being back in Colorado. The rain only lasted an hour and it quickly returned to normal.

For lunch I went to another cafeteria and saw the western section which was mostly Mexican food. All I could think is how much money Jonathon would make if he opened up a burrito shop here!

After work I went to Bugis to check out the street shops. This felt like a condensed flea market with lots of bargaining and haggling. I almost bought some items for friend back home, but it was mostly cheaply made and tacky. There was a sharp contrast between Bugis and the expensive malls that line the Singapore streets.

I then went to Little India to get Indian food with some coworkers. We ate at an Indian place called Langaa.
Langaa has a scale of spice from 1-10. 1 is for anyone and NO ONE has successfully finished a
Parkview SquareParkview SquareParkview Square

Like something right out of a Batman movie!
10. Our levels ranged from 1.5-6. I played it safe and had the 1.5. I did try the 6 which was very spicy. James and Matt had 5 and 6 respectively. I was told by the owner that 7 is a significant leap and can hurt the next day. After hearing that I felt fine with my decision to wimp out on the spice challenge.

We the all went to a bar that looked like it was straight out of Gotham city. It had amazing architecture, a huge wine collection, and a live jazz band. By far the classiest joint I've seen in Singapore yet.

Afterwards we migrated to a hookah lounge close by. This was in the "edgy" neighborhood. It is clear that all the legal restrictions have caused edgy to be more creative than dangerous. This area had a little calculated graffiti and charm, but is nothing like what is edgy in the states. This side effect of the laws makes it entirely safe, but more homogenized than you can find in slightly dangerous neighborhoods of other countries. Surely there must be a good blend achievable and it seems this neighborhood is heading in that direction.
Sheeshah timeSheeshah timeSheeshah time

Rare event, but hey why not :)


Around midnight I began to fall asleep at the table and decided it was a good time to go. My Jet lag is improving every day. Tomorrow I plan on visiting a music club called walla walla. I am excited for the possibilities!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb