Singapore in a day!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Raffles Marina
October 27th 2008
Published: November 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Singapore in a day!

Our flight arrived in Singapore on time and after a quick taxi to our hotel Kirsty and I decided to seize the day and have a nap!

Our hotel - though quite expensive was grim. The walls were damp and the whole hotel felt like it was about to blow a fuse - or electricute someone. I was not going to be charging up my mobile in this establishment!

We strolled through Singapore and found ourselve somewhere to eat. Noodles - very safe. We found our bearings and jumped on a Duck tour around the city. The tour covered the river and the roads and although was clearly aimed at 5 year olds was actually very entertaining! Singapore is a gorgeous city but lacks character I find. Perhaps that is just in comparison to Beijing and Hong Kong. I was pleased to have seen it but wished I had more money to spend as the shopping looked amazing!

We jumped in a taxi and upon recomendation from Ben and Mel head off to the Night Zoo. It was incredible! I had my mouth open the whole time. I could not take any phots as flash photography upsets the animals and I did not fancy being eaten. We were pushed for time so opted for the tram that takes you around the park. I felt as though I as being whisked through Africa. All the animals stood a few metres away from me and there did not appear to be any fence dividing us. The most amazing was a large male elephant which stood at about three metres high literally night next to me.
There was a halloween theme in the park which made it feel really special. I would totally recommend this to anyone and would love to come back and spend more time here.

It was getting late and the jet lag was kicking in so we jumped in a cab back to the city centre and got ourselves dropped off at Raffles. A rather different class of hotel to the one that we were staying in. We saunted into the Long bar and ordered the traditional Sinapore Sling and munched on the peanuts that were avalible at the bar. The Long bar plays rather old jazz music and it does feel as though you have stepped back in time. Hand fans were hung from the roof and swayed back and forth - though I am not sure whether they actually cooled anyone down. We sat on whicker chairs and enjoyed the dim lighting. I was amused at the range of people that came to the bar. Most of which were tourists popping in for the token sling. Others were people that looked as though they had been sitting there since the bar first opened.

We head back to our "hotel" and hoped that the drink had put a positive light on the shambles that we were about to sleep in. I think I had drunk enough to get a good nights sleep and not wake up when the air conditioning broke down...

Up early for our flight to Vietnam!



Advertisement



4th November 2008

singaproe hotel
Hey that's a very interesting viewpoint of Singapore. Which hotel did you stay at when you were there. Maybe we should meetup sometime when we're both together in singapore. Alternatively you can visit Yellow Pages Singapore to check up on the latest happenings in Singapore. Small country but I simply love it.

Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb