That Dog is Very Dirty


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Rizal
May 7th 2010
Published: May 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ah, yes. Inside jokes as titles. To be explained later. This post is dedicated to you, mom, and if you get a chance to read it I want you to know that I love you and will be praying for you over here, on the other side of the world. Though I cannot be there with you, I hope my words can reach you and give you some comfort knowing that I am, of course, still thinking about you.

It's the night following my return to Pasig from the city of Daan-Lungsod located in Alcoy, Cebu, and let me tell you, I'm rather torn about it. On one hand, I step forward in my journey in the Philippines; on the other, I leave behind a place whence I experienced many unforgettable moments. I suppose that's what mnemosyne -- memories -- are for. That, and photos. Oh, and don't forget souvenirs, but material objects simply bring the pleasant memories to the surface. It's currently 9:53 PM in the Philippines, and I wanted to type a post up this morning but I caught a case of writer's apathy and proceeded to allow myself to get distracted. Now that I've rested up, eaten, and the blazing heat of the mid-afternoon sun is gone, I think I'm capable of typing up a semi-decent post.

So much has happened in the twelve days I was in Cebu. While at the time it felt like my time there was not going to end, I was sadly mistaken when it was brought to an abrupt stop, making me realize that my time there was indeed very limited. Oh yeah, and those who care to read this thing (though I believe I created this blog in vain), you may have noticed I haven't made a post since the one detailing my arrival to the Philippines. That can be attributed to the (unsurprising) fact that my auntie (no blood relation; she can be considered my step-grandmother. This is a detail needed for future reference) Rasma's village lacks an internet connection. Though there was an internet cafe in the main town, I didn't want to be a bother by asking my auntie Rasma's brother-in-law for a ride down there. That, and I didn't have anything less than a P100 bill (yes yes, I'm a high roller) and it costs P1 for four minutes of internet time.

For now, I'll leave you with a list of things about my time in Cebu that I intend to post about. Not only for you, but also as a reference for me so I can have some semblance of organization in this cluttered mind of mine. I'm feeling kind of lazy right now; the heat tends to do that to you.

• There are a few things I forgot to post about prior to my trip to Cebu, but nothing really that important.
• I had a lot of firsts in Cebu: It was the first time I've been to a beach, the first time I've been to a fiesta, the first time I've seen a waterfall, the first time I've almost drowned, the first time I've caught a lizard, the first time I've drank and eaten a fresh young coconut, the first time I've eaten a jackfruit, the first time I've killed something that wasn't an insect, the first time I've gotten drunk outside of Canada, the first time I've... heh, that's private!
• I also fell in love (or maybe I was just delusional) for the first time, but I believe this deserves a bullet all on its own. I couldn't believe it, either! Oh yeah, and there were suspicions amongst us that there was actually a love triangle.
• I went to the market in the next town, and stuff there is cheap as fuuuuuuck.
• I took in some amazing, awe-inspiring sights. I also realized I'm a sucker for beautiful landscapes; the memory card on my camera is filled with picture of just the sky, ocean, and what Erik likes to call "vegetation."
• I sang some mean karaoke.
• Did I mention the many, many laughs I had? I've laughed harder than I have in a long while, and these were genuine.

I feel like there's more but right now, the sounds of karaoke beckons to me. I shall join my uncle Eddie and though I may be hesitant at first, a few tumblers of Jim Beam should loosen me up. 'Til next time...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 6; ; mem: 1.1mb