Enchanting Enchanted River


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Mindanao » Surigao del Sur
September 18th 2012
Published: September 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Ilocos Revisited


Thanks to my work and it brought me to the beautiful Region down south--- the Mindanao. This time after my official business, I was accompanied by my colleagues of DOH Region CARAGA to visit the famous Enchanting River in Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur. It is 8 hours travel from Davao City or if from Surigao del Sur, around 45 to 1 hour land travel. The Chief of one hospital there that I provided technical assistance promised to tour me around once I visited their place.

We arrived at the Hinatuan District Hospital around 730 in the morning. We were served with a sumptuous seafood meal for our breakfast and after getting around the facility it’s time to go to this River that everyone is talking about. The sun is up and just right for our trip. A tour to the Enchanted River gives me a high spirit that beautiful morning. The river is a 30minutes road travel from the Hinatuan proper, 12 Kilometers away from the National Highway and it’s a rugged road network.

As soon as I got a glimpse of the River, I can’t stop myself from getting awed just by the cool blue and green color of the water. This is a result of the mixture of the salt water from the sea and the fresh water of the river. It was really a refreshing sight to behold. We had a boat ride at the Hinatuan Bay and there are parts that the clear sea water is just knee deep. I saw some corals and star fish with different colors. We also went to the Tortoise Sanctuary, wherein you can swim, snorkel and play with the Tortoises.

We went back to the river at 12 noon just in time for the Fish feeding. A bell will ring every 12noon and everyone is excited to get a sight of the fish that is colored white. There is a school of fish living in the river and after the fish feeding, all of them just disappeared. Enchanting isn’t it? That is why it is called an Enchanted River. But, having witnessed the beauty of the River, I may say that; expect really to be enchanted by the Hinatuan Enchanted River! ;-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 69, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

the Altar of St. Joseph Cathedralthe Altar of St. Joseph Cathedral
the Altar of St. Joseph Cathedral

Cathedral in Butuan City, Agusan Del Norte, located at the heart of the city just across the Plaza
CrabsCrabs
Crabs

Craving for Crabs? our breakfast in Hinatuan, Surigao Del Sur
Rugged roadRugged road
Rugged road

the 12 KM stretch of rugged road going to the Hinatuan River


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb