Philippines - Manila - Comments


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Metromanila
October 12th 2011
Published: October 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I've received over 900 comments on my post about "Manila - Awfully Disappointing". Viral on Facebook! Wow! Good Grief!

Thanks. I'll review as many as I can. I'm PUBLISHING all the most egregiously offensive comments that have their author's name attached; these people need the publicity.

And I'm holding the one from "George Clooney" until he verifies that it's really from him😊 Respect, Sir, if it really was from you. The reference to the coffee was homage to your really brilliant TV advert. And, yes, I will improve my grammar - man it's a BLOG, written casually, not a World Bank report. Sigh.

I wish people would have the balls to use their own names. I do......

Most folk apparently agree with what I've said, but I certainly don't ask for that. I welcome criticism - really. It makes me better. Perhaps that's a thought to dwell on when you read the post.

The post wasn't intended to be insulting, and if people are, then I apologise for that, but yes, it was a rant. All those that never rant stand up, please. I was PISSED!

People can say what they like (fortunately) in response including "racist faggot" (I'm actually not, Mr. Anonymous! Partnered with an Asian with kids).

I had a single bad trip to Manila and I reflected that in the post. I didn't like the hotel I've used for years - it's gone right down...... hopefully that opinion - and it's JUST my opinion - is useful to some people, if not do stay at the Discovery Suites... you may have a good visit and I hope you do.

And yes, I'm disappointed in Manila and the Philippines. It was an Asia Tiger, it could still be, but just right now it ain't. I'm sorry for that. Perhaps this outpouring over my post will help change things, because younger Filipinos seem to be overwhelmingly frustrated with the state of affairs.

I reserve the right to say what I like on this Blog within the bounds of (reasonably) good manners, the occasional OTT rant, civilized propriety and the rule of libel.

Read the post, write to me on travel@quartermainesworld.com, become a friend on the Quartermaines World Facebook page or comment some more!







Advertisement



12th October 2011

I have read your opinion. So now, let me tell you mine. Well I think, you are very impartial with the way you speak about Manila. I do not know you totally but guess what, maybe your ego is just acting up! There are a lot more to see in the city and you would not know that if you have not spent most of your life here. If your problem is the airport, buy your own private jet to travel. If your problem is the hotel, pull out your rubber bands and pay some more! "Wag kang umangal kung wala ka naman palang pera." It means you are one heck of a bitch.
12th October 2011

Philippines - Manila
Geoff, what you described about Manila is quite frankly a realistic view of the city. But that is what the glamour of Manila is all about. It is a place that time has not changed drastically fast that a foreign tourist who came just a year ago, would be uncomfortable with the changes, that he again becomes a total stranger to the place that he has come backed to, and wouldn\'t be able to enjoy the sights and sounds of a city he has learned to love and know his way around, which obviously is what you have been doing. It is also this lack of development that prices in Manila is quite affordable for a city to have amenities that would cost you an arm and a leg in some of the other Asian cities you cite to be better. But you hit the nail of what the Philippines is all about. The Philippines is not just Manila but with other places to visit within the rest of the country. Which offers rustic not over developed places to enjoy nature at its best. And all within a very affordable cost I may again reiterate. But if Manila is really that disgusting to you, why keep coming back?
12th October 2011

Dear Mr. Bastin: I appreciate the credits. However, I take offense that the photo was used in that context. I understand that we differ when it comes to how we see and experience Metro Manila; and from where I was coming from, the photo illustration and the series of which it is part, was produced precisely to commemorate Manila - a city that I love in spite of the flaws that you pointed out in a previous article. I trust that you will remove visual. Thanks.
13th October 2011

what do you expect?
People will defend their country, that is what they think they\'re doing. of course, the reality is that they are sensitive about it, there is nothing that can stop that now.with most people lack of analytical mind, the only thing that would stop them is an apology which i know you will never give. they will continue to do so. I understand though you had a rough time, but probably some of them got offended too when you some how quoted the country as \"disappearing\". i think deterioration is the proper term since i know my country well. but you\'re opinion did hurt them most specially those who are \"doing\" their best to make the country better. Do visit other parts of the country, but next time don\'t try the city :P
14th October 2011

thank you.
Thank you for your honesty. See, this is the kind of honesty that Filipinos should see. It’s not insulting to me, honestly. I am a Filipino myself. Born and raised. While I love the country itself and pride myself as one, often I find myself embarrassed. Not ashamed, but embarrassed. Though I was told not to care about what people think, I do care, about the place in itself. It could have been a great country, if it was managed properly. Even those who live there get blinded byt this simple rage about being criticized. Why? Because we have so much pride. So much pride that it makes us arrogant and blind to real issues. Yes, Manila can be a dump. The traffic is awful. The smog is thick. I can imagine Cubao as a steam-punk area but that’s me and my escapism as I cross underneath the ‘flyover’. The poverty is very obvious. I have lived in various places, been in the squatters area (I am very friendly with my sister’s nanny) and though my mother often told me not to accompany her to her place where she stays, I still do, because I trust her and I know, these people are only getting by with what they have. I do applaud some though, the once who are almost illiterate, in their ability to withstand hardship and find the time to sing and dance and talk about life in general. That is the truth I saw during those small visits. I do not approve that the Philippines has more malls than it should. I do not approve of construction for buildings every year, and cheap reconstruction of our roads. I do not approve of photoshopped pictures of government officials. I do not approve of this arrogance and this complacency. I do not approve of our gameshows that buy your ego and your pride in yourself. I do not approve of all this, especially since I have been exposed to so many things. Can they blame me for wanting to stay abroad? Or wanting to be somewhere else? Even Filipinos have something to say about immigrant Filipinos. What is this stateside thinking? What is this jealousy that they keep on hating? Dear sir, I think I must point out that this has been integrated in out culture because mostly think they deserve better but they still play the victim. Yes colonization is evil. Yes having places called a dump is insulting—but it won’t sting as much if it weren’t true. I guess what I’m saying after that long rant is, I am sad that people are still blind to this fact. I mean, come on, Philippines! Let’s work together and make it better! Must Immigrant Filipinos send help to you all the time? Must my family members be the one to make organizations to send you food, to restore your roads, from where they grew up? Must we settle for corruption, thinking that there’s nothing to be done? What kind of democracy have we been demanding when we can’t even do anything ourselves? People complain about the corruption when they themselves can’t even stop themselves from adhering to it. Or even follow the rules! I wish I were more coherent and organized with this, but I’m writing this down on impulse and hopefully you are able to read this from all the comments you’ve been receiving. I am young, and I may be foolish, but I am right. I see everything from where I’m standing and I’m trying to make myself a better person so that I can teach my child not to be ashamed, but influence others to take pride in being a Filipino so that someday, during his time, he can lead or urge others to see the same. So once again, thank you. I hope more people read this. I hope the Catholic church does not interfere once again. I hope the government doesn’t censor such a thing, so that people would keep seeing the truth and work at it, slowly but surely. I would like to see a better Philippines before I die.
14th October 2011

Unbelievable how you only publish comments that actually agree with you. You\\\'re so thick and full of it, it\\\'s ridiculous. If you were so unhappy with Discovery Suites, you should\\\'ve left and paid extra for Shangri-la. All this whinging because you\\\'re too cheap to spring for decent accommodations. Also, if you have to call yourself an intellectual, you obviously aren\\\'t. Please.
16th October 2011

Your have just uncovered the heart of the dysfunctional Filipino psyche. A foreigner that criticizes the Philippines or Filipinos, will get the same type of attention a cartoon drawing of muhammad does. Go ahead and write a piece criticizing Manny Paquiao, you\'ll see... BTW don\'t be surprised when Philippine politicians start talking about your article, then they\'ll make their motions to put you under an immigration blacklist / persona-non-grata. I hope you stick to your guns, and not turn around to issue some type of apology. I really think shame can be an effective approach to turn things around in the country.
18th October 2011

Uhh..
I almost agreed on you about the Manila thing. But why do you need to generalize it and discourage travelers going to the Philippines if they ever plan to go to Asia? People traveling to our country actually helps our economy so that we could 'hopefully' grow to a better country. (urgh. Corruption. Oh well. It's in every country, not only in the Phil.. Just that it's worse.) It's very rude of you to sum up the country just based on ONE dirty city. Every country has a 'dump' city realistically speaking.
18th October 2011

Philippines - Manila
Well, I wanted to put my real name, but scared being too often intimidated or hassled by the immigration and or the customs so called officers since 1987, since 10 years their attentions have been oriented to those poor OFW, so sometimes I am spared but very much sad and angry, yes that long, have been in this blessed country for so many times. All started when this country was very reasonably \'low costs of living\'; then get sucked into what is now, the most expensive capital in SE Asia or even any other developed or developing country in everything when one evaluates with the \'quality and money spent\' equation.... I agreed with you the Brit Bastin, even though I do not really admire any of you hahah, I am a French national as to explain this ..and still have to borrow your phrase: this is ONLY MY OPINION or RANT... and the following is not from you but from the Bible... FOR THOSE WHO HAVE EYES, CAN SEE..... not this one though AS A MERE FACT, NOT THE TRUTH..? AMEN. The reason I take the time to do this is because of those moronic Filipinos ( many are not, thank God,!) asking always the same question( actually they are not asking, so needless to answer, they are just too narrow minded and uncivilized-ly arrogant and unconsciously dump to be sincere to ask a proper question, they just try to be smart and ironic, or just try to act like a fake prosecutor who used to be enslaved for hundred of years ( I can also make barbaric statement too) \"IF Manila is so bad, so expensive so dirty so etc., why you foreigners keep on coming back?\" the following answer is only for those who are not moron: one can fall in love with a blessed RICH land like the Philippines, one can love this land more than a native just because one has passion or compassion of life, one can pray for AND to stay and try to help the Filipino nation to improve their life as to be worthy to live in such a blessed land, one can bear all the stupidity of many just because of a few good intentions of a few, one can fall in love with a Filipino and desire to have children and stay for the sake of their beloved ones, one can be invited to do business here or being hired as an employee, I can continue longer, however, I find myself so stupid already to have written all the above since all these are so elementary. One more thing for those who think or believe that other provinces or places either than Metro Manila is far better in organization, infrastructure, cleanliness, features, or quality in living; unfortunately, they are still wrong, SM or Ayala Mall or Robinson or other malls do not replace a decent airport or seaport equipped with functional toilets; English spoken ( arguable, AS MY ENGLISH IS SO BAD ) with smiling faces cannot replace proper/disciplined bus or jeepney or tricycle or taxi stations and those Malls\' elevators do not replace traffic management nor proper safe public transportation: sea, sun and sex do not replace well or simply prepared meals or rather hygienic measures in food transportation or storage in most public eateries including no star to so called 5 star hotels or restaurants.... and fortunately there are still some people who eat only from their own back yard or farm production. One Chinese diction says something like this, if a child has been raised forcibly only within a dirty environment, how can one be surprised that the child will die if being put into a cleaner place ?....this may explain many issues happening in this country, A proper education may be an answer for the next generation if ever we can start right now, or else the denial symptom will still be installed and enjoyed by the devil for a long time.

Tot: 0.33s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 23; qc: 140; dbt: 0.1859s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.4mb