Start of Day 2


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Metromanila
December 30th 2007
Published: December 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had an early night last night. My relatives dropped me off at Gil Puyat Tram station and from there I made it back to my hostel. The hostel was having a cocktail party when I got there. I think the host has one every night. The guests I met earlier where hanging out having cheese and wine. I wanted to go to the Starbucks across the street but decided to hang at this local bar, what looks like an American ex-pat bar, instead to write some postcards.

Later on I ran into the kids from Denmark again (yes, they all speak like Lars Ulrich, the drummer for Metallica). They said they went to Taal Volcano that day. It was just OK. They invited me to hang out at The Rolling Stones bar down the street to play pool but I declined. Too tired.

I got a chance to talk to this Irish guy who had the same sentiments about Manila as me. He said he's staying here in Manila for 20 days. He said he loves it here. He can't believe the Philippines is not as popular as Thailand or Indonesia. The locals speak English, it's cheap, everyone's Friendly. He noticed right away the Spanish and American influences. Everywhere he went people would call out to him "Americano! Americano!"

I went to bed around 10:30pm. I woke up around 3:30 because of loud music from outside, from inside, and from what I hope were fireworks.

Today I'm going to venture out to Puerto Galera in Mindoro, a small island resort 4 hours south of here, via bus and ferry. Wish me luck.

Advertisement



30th December 2007

When will you start sending pictures?
and what does mabuhay mean? Have a happy New Year!
3rd January 2008

"Mabuhay"
Either long live, or to life (like Le Chaim!). "Buhay" means life.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb