ISLANDS 101: UNTOUCHABLE: TALICUD ISLAND


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Davao del Norte
April 12th 2013
Published: April 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

TALICUD ISLAND is one my bucket lists this year.




So glad that I finally realized it in God's time. 😊




Talicud island, is a small island located in Mindanao area and is part of Davao Peninsula. It is not as very much popular to the neighboring island named Samal, but is now slowly going to the top to become a known one. There are also residents living here and making their own ways of living specifically fishing.




It was day 2 of my Davao escapade during my post holy week vacation. I made a keen research about this island as this is one of my dreams to go here.




Going to the island is just so accessible, there are many pump boats or ferries going there everyday with different time schedules that mostly goes directly to the famous Isla Reta Resort. Travel time only takes 45 minute to arrive in the island depending on the calmness of the sea. But since it was summer already when we came there, we got a beautiful weather indeed.




And is sailing through the Davao gulf, with great views from Davao City and Samal Island.




Talicud Island is derived from the Visayan word "licud" which means back, and in fact located at the back of the famous Samal Island.




It was my first time to go here, together with a good friend of mine name Yen. Her first time as well.




When we arrived at the island, we were captivated by the long shoreline of white sand that makes me so excited to dig myself in the sandbar and just to swim a little bit. But, actually I really don't know how to swim. haha




The pump boat we rode in, docked in the famous Isla Reta Resort in the said island. Paid P85 for the boat and an entrance fee at the island for P75 per head. Cottages were free, and you can just bring your own foods with you, nothing to worry about because there is no corkage.




To our surprised, there were really no people nor guests swimming there, only that me, my friend and our co-passengers in the boat. Glad it this way. haha.... selfish!




And I was so glad to come here because though it is summer already,

the island itself was not so crowded that time and that we really have the freedom to do our craziness especially when taking pictures of ourselves. We are so vain though. LOL


I just took a lot of pictures of the place, coz I saw that the waves are kinda big, the current is strong that you have to be careful if you wanna go swim. Not for me, coz I don't know how to swim, but I am just so in love with the beach.




How nice it was to stay overnight, coz they also have rooms for accommodations, they have good rates as well, and the staffs of the resort are very much accommodated and friendly enough to the guests. Good for them.




But since we planned not to stay overlong, we talked to one of the staffs and asked him if we could ride a passenger boat going to Samal Island for a low rate. He told us, that there are really boats going to Samal if there are many passengers crossing to the other island, but unfortunately, we haven't avail it. He instead suggested to just hire a pump boat

for P300 for it is the fix rate going to Samal. I tried to haggled but I wasn't lucky enough. LOL


So we just opted to hire the boat. No choice, coz we are running out of time.




We just stayed for half of the day at the island, as we also plan to go the neighboring island, Samal Island that just took us a 30 minute ride depending on the calmness of the sea. But during that time, it was so bumpy and the waves were big that I, myself pretending not afraid of the waves. hehe Lucky enough, we arrived safely to our next destination.







I asked to myself when will I be able to go back to this island. Coz going here really takes time to travel, since that I live in Cebu. And that going to Davao really takes time to travel either by plane or by boat. Depending also if I have that big budget again. Nevertheless, I enjoyed a lot. I was stunned of the beautiful beach, as I am really a beach lover even though I do not know how to swim.




I will super miss this mysterious yet beautiful island!!!!!




It's more fun in the Philippines indeed! 😊




MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!!! 😊







//
//


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement




Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb