Melon and Michelle say hello to Hong Kong, Philippines and Singapore


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu
May 7th 2013
Published: May 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After our break in Hong Kong we head to Cebu, Philippines. The first thing I notice is the poverty in the city. It is under developed and dirty with lots of people loitering on the streets. It is however hot and sunny and the people are happy and friendly. Unfortunately for me the biggest attraction seems to be me! I have never been stared at so much in my life. I'm not quite sure what sparked the overwhelming interest in me but it kept the natives entertained. I was greeted by 'hello mam' at every corner. Michelle was lucky enough to blend in a little better than me.

Our first day was spent wondering the city where we visited a temple, a church, a native cross and tried to find some food. One thing that has to be said about the Philippines is that the food has to be the worst in the whole of Asia. I was looking forward to being back in Asia for the food alone but the Philippines did not meet my expectations. If you like your food fried and sweet tasting you will get by, otherwise be prepared for lots of fast food and plain boiled rice- yummy!

From Cebu we got the ferry across to Bohol- a small Island heading south of the Philippines. Bohol is home to the Chocolate mountains, the tarsiers and the loboc river. Once we arrived we had the challenge of finding ourselves some dinner...we ended up in the mall with a plate of fried chicken and a group of girls staring at me. Our room was interesting. The view was beautiful, it overlooked the river and the mountains and we had a perfect view for sunset. The inside of the room wasnt the best. The shower was above the toilet?! and only tickled water...I was better off attempting to shower in the sink.

Our next day was spent visiting all the sites. First was the smallest monkeys i have ever seen and ive seen quite a few now. They were like the size of your hand- super cute. We then visited the chocolate mountains. There are many reasons why they are called that but none make sense to me. im going with the fact they go brown in the sun and it looks like chocolate has been poured over the top of them. They were fairly green when we saw them though. After that we visited the man made mahogany forest, the hanging bridge and we had lunch on board the loboc river boat. We also visited a butterfly sanctuary where we caught the butterflies mating. apparently the mate for 24 hours!! If anyone plans to visit Bohol its really easy to get there and all the tours can be organised on arrival at the ferry terminal. They have loads of things on offer and if we had more time I def would have visited the adventure park.

M x


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb