Ceboobs!!!


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu
January 7th 2006
Published: January 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Happy New year everyone!!!

Sorry still no pictures. It has been the hardest thing trying to find an internet connection that doesn’t cost and arm and a leg and has USB connection. The dialup that I use here at my uncle’s is pretty slow. I just copy and paste from a word document. I have given up on the pictures, and will just show you all or email some when I get home…

New years was pretty fun as in the Philippines they have “laws” about personal use of fireworks, but it does get pretty sketchy when we sit on a roof, and people are setting off “globalfest level fireworks” off their house. Sounds like we’re at war, with gunshots and loud firework blasts in every direction, but you look in the sky and it’s beautiful, yet unnerving at the same time.

Where have I been for the last few days? In Cebu!! It’s a white sand beach resort. We first stayed at a cute little cottage resort right by the beach and the following two nights we were at the Shangri-La Cebu, which is the place where the President stays (not Bush, but Arroyo). It was pretty nice, fantastic actually, but a little too nice. It was like every other beach resort in the world. I still had a great time and got a nice tan too. It was kind of sad how this fantastic, expensive beach resort was in the middle of squalor and poverty.

In Cebu though, is where I had the BEST meal of the trip. Once again, as it is anywhere else in the world. The best meal is always in a hole in the wall establishment. We stopped outside this little tin shanty house, sketchy as heck, called the Mactan SulTuKil, and outside was a whole buffet of raw seafood. Huge squid, fresh prawns, blue fish, and shellfish. We had to pick the piece of seafood we wanted and how we wanted it cooked, like the Mongolian grill, but with fresh food. Anyways, we ordered some big fish fried and then the heads used to make Sinigang, a sour savory Filipino soup like the Thai Tam Yam soup. Then some steamed crab, and sizzling squid.. Sizzling? Hmm. Anyways, we went inside the house, and it looked so much better inside than out.. And the food, OH MY GOD, was the best meal, like I said. Everything tastes better when it is made from fresh ingredients… We still talk about that meal 4 days later.

Anyways, I got a nice tan in Cebu (Ceboobs) and the wedding for my cousin is tomorrow. It’s been a nice relaxing few days, and there are no more bags under my eyes.. Ah.. vacation. I did find a dress eventually, at Esprit.. Isn’t that funny? I saw the same dress at home in Eaton’s centre. On wedding news, much congrats to my buddy Melissa (anaticulae) who got engaged recently!!! Stay tuned. Also, Happy Birthday to Gabe and Catheryn!! Have fun and the game.. Go Flames Go!!!


Advertisement



7th January 2006

FRESH!!
Hi Charishe, the game was fun with Gabe and his other friend..mike, I, Adam and Janice went with them..lots of profanity all around!! the flames won so that was sweet..Gabe was ecstatic!! i wish i was there with you buddy, it sounds awesome..i know what you mean about the fresh food, it's so much better fresh rather than frozen!! have a great time at the wedding, and take lots of pics..we miss you.love catheryn,,thanks for the bday wishes too
9th January 2006

I love FOOD!
Hi Charishe,That fresh seafood sounds amazing. I am back from VEgas and had the best time ever. I have my own food stories for you to hear later. But my fave place which we went to everyday was this patiserrie at the Bellagio, it is top notch. I savored everything in the trip and thought of you teasing me as I analyzed evrything I ate. I love Vegas. I can't wait to see you pics after your trip. Have fun, hope you have a gym waiting for you when you get back. I know I will hit the gym asap in Toronto.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb