Diving…disaster


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Boracay
March 3rd 2011
Published: October 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This morning I went a little early, filled out a form with my information, gave the lady my diving cards, and got some equipment for the day. We had our briefing and went out on the boat. It was a short ride to Laurel, our first diving site, and when we got there we quickly got in and went down. I was with four others, one a couple, and one man who was to be my buddy, and the dive master, Oliver. When we got in the water my buddy felt uncomfortable and decided not to dive, so my buddy switched to Oliver.

Well, we went down and saw the sloping reef populated by many soft and hard corals as well as fish, obviously. I am surprised they still have anything though, as my dive master constantly sliced, hit, and did whatever else you can do to coral with his fins. I tried to warn him once but he hit the coral anyways. I can't imagine them having jobs in a few years if that’s how they treat the coral! It sort of ruined that dive for me because I was constantly distressed about the treatment of the coral. Needless to say, I complained to another dive master who didn’t seem very concerned but said he would talk to him about it.

Oliver was scheduled to be my dive master on the following dive so I decided to take my name off that list and dive tomorrow instead with someone else. The rest of the day we didn’t really do anything but sort of beach around with a bottle of rum. We did, however, eat again at this awesome German place – their breaded pork cutlet and mashed potatoes was amazing yesterday so we went back today and got two more delicious plates.

Hope tomorrow’s dive goes better!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb