Small Impressions


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Boracay
February 11th 2006
Published: March 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Castle ConstructionCastle ConstructionCastle Construction

Everyday, all morning long, these guyes contructed these fantastic castles that gave romance to the already magical night on Boracay beach. Jen and I spent many mornings laying in the hot sun, admiring their delicate work.
It has been 4 days now in Boracay. Small impressions include tiny ants (bed bugs) on my bed and all over my clothes, bits of seashells and coral along the fine, smooth, white sand shoreline, bowl of "goto", Filipino congee, along with the chicken (or duck) egg and black yoke (incidentally, in case you were wondering, yes the black yoke is a half formed fetus...yum yum), "turo turo"s along the "road" with quiet, kind, eager Filipionos awaiting late night white curious customers, sausage on a stick sliced and diced in a floral pattern coated in a sweet tangy spice BBQ sauce, soaking wet bathroom floors and toilet seats, dive bombing beach birds, aquamarine water,wet glossy black igneous rock, "yes ma'ams" and "lunch ma'ams" and "sarongs, pretty necklaces, massage ma'ams", Celine Dion, Tracey Chapman, Bob Marley (of course).

As a trip, it has been an amazingly diverse 4 days for being "stuck" on a "boring" beach in Boracay. And everything is coloured in a slightly obscured light. Everything near to perfect, slightly bittersweet. Nothing should be perfect. Then one goes numb to it all.

Somethings have been difficult. Our first impressions were of dark sweaty scrupulous streets- full of shady
Far end of the beachFar end of the beachFar end of the beach

Cocomangas lantern at night.
characters looking for innocent Canadian prey. Since then my impressions keep soaring. Last night being the highlight of it all. The intention to come to a "honeymoon paradise" was not to walk hand in hand down the beach at night with live serenades every few meters and crashing waves, though that is lovely. It was not to come and drink myself into a trouisty frenzy, though no doubt that will be all I do when Travis gets here. The intention was to go somewhere where I could just BE. I am very poor at this. I am not too bad at DOING, much better at FEELING, but BEING is sometimes the most difficult thing in the world for me.

But here I have managed pretty well. It is easy to say a tropical beach alone can make a person melt away their cares just by the cobination of soft sand, palm trees and crashing waves. It's true, warm weather breeds relaxation, and the sound of crashing waves and rushing palm leaves rocks a person into a coma, but aside from these obvious triggers of relaxation, this is the first time I have just let myself lose the inhibitions and
The island's islandThe island's islandThe island's island

Tiny island off the coast of Boracay..you could wade to it and then pay your respects to the Virgin Mary.
the expecations of other and just live. Make some memories, or forget each moment as it passes. The important thing is to be in every moment. If I am rocking on a hammock, that is the only thing in the owrld that matters. If I am meeting new people and giving it my all on a dance floor or a converstaion with a stranger, I am there. I am living.

Even if that means I have to get eaten by bed bugs to do it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Me and a shishaMe and a shisha
Me and a shisha

My first adventurous night on the beach- no it's not drugs
Boracay on horsebackBoracay on horseback
Boracay on horseback

My leader..I almost opted for the solo exploration, but who am I kidding...I haven't ridden a horse in a LONG time on my own. PLus, with a guide was an extra buck and hour I think
The view from aboveThe view from above
The view from above

The point at the very top of the island- beautiful
Trying not to blow awayTrying not to blow away
Trying not to blow away

The wind up on the tower at the top was INSANE- I am literally white knucking it behind me
Monkey on a leashMonkey on a leash
Monkey on a leash

thankfully- he tried to eat my face
In the bushIn the bush
In the bush

I don't know what that random wall was ever for
Bom BomBom Bom
Bom Bom

My favorite place in the WORLD!!! It was this chill little bar on the beach where guys played live acoustic tunes and we could lay in the sand on pillows and drink beer and not care about anything
MC and Harvey- pre-meetMC and Harvey- pre-meet
MC and Harvey- pre-meet

Two of my favorite people in the world- I accidentally took this picture of them when I was trying to take a pic of the beach- later (maybe and hour or so) they introduced themselves and we spent a good portion of our trip with them- AMAZING people


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb