Boracay Nights


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Boracay
December 10th 2008
Published: December 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

12/7 The Island of Boracay
Fantastic idea to skip sleep two nights in a row! But nevermind that cause I am sitting on one of Asia's best beaches... Boracay.

Wilma, Tara's Aunt Meir, Tara and I arrived around 7am and checked into our awesome hotel, La Isla Bonita (side note: this became our theme song for our stay). Us girls then head for breakfast and a long walk around the island. Boracay reminds me of Boubon St. in New Orleans or Key West but all the stores and bars are directly on the beach about 50m from the water.... INCREDIBLE. Obviously, this island is more of a party town then a secluded hideaway. And that's perfectly okay with me.

After taking a refreshing dip in the clear blue sea I insinuate to Tara that I am a bit parched. So we decide to check out a couple of the beach bars with her aunt Meir. By this time happy hour has officially started. The current time? 1:00pm (Don't judge me I'm on vacation). Now one of the coolest bars we went to was called Bolero. However we decide to nickname it "Swings" because the entire front entrance is lined with swings in the front that even 24 yr olds can play on. Ingenious! Yes, I am easily entertained.

Our last stop I didn't get the name of so I just called it the twofer. For obvious reasons people: drinks were 2 for 1. To our dismay, there was no bartender on duty!! Just an assistant named Dabbs who looked like he was 16 . So Meir and Tara decide to conjure up the story that I am a bartender back in L.A. And with that , I become guest bartender making white russians for everyone. You'd be proud Jame.

Soon our little charade came to bite me in the butt when Dabbs asks me to show him how to make a signature drink of L.A. Hmmm, good thing I can think on my feet. The conversation went something like: "Okay Dabbs, here's how you make a 'Miracle Madness.' 1 shot vodka, 1 shot rum....no, white rum. Ughh ( look at Tara, Tara mumbles that Triple Sec might work). Yeah umm, triple sec. Now put a spalsh of OJ and sprite in there. The poor guy was so nervous he was going to mess it up! (he was shaking) I was just thinking I hope it's alright cause I just made it up 5 seconds ago . To my surpise, it actually tasted really good. So just remember "Miracle Madness" at your next party.

Before leaving the twofer we bust out into a spontaneous dance party on the beach. We didn't take notice of the locals filming our comedy hour until it was pointed out to us. Seems right on par though. Aaah and then the troops retreat for showers and out to dinner along the beach where Meir spots out a couple of nice looking gentlemen wearing a white and blue shirt (aka "Blite"). Meir and I decide to be Tara's wingmen in hopes to find her future husband. So I stay true to the mission (of embarrassing Tara) and walk in chanting "Olayyy Olay Olay Olayyy!!" Apparently the wait staff loved it and joined in. Sadly though our targets left the scene..... until a couple hours later when we were at a fire throwing show. Tara told us to be normal but act "cool." So of course her aunt Meir (crazy awesome lady) runs to the middle of the show and becomes part of the act. We then sit down at a nearby bar and listen to the live band that is playing simultaneously. I request some Journey song (just for you Vroom) and the next thing I know .... the spotlight is put on me and suddenly become serenaded by the singer to "Open Arms" in front of about 300 ppl. Got some good footage of that. So By this time "Blite" comes over to introduce themselves. Unbeknownst to us that they are Brazilian male models and don't speak any english ... quite funny. So we end the night with about 2 hours of dancing to techno before Tara exchanges numbers with "Mr. Brazil." Meir and I are hopeful a proposal works out soon.

***Signing off from Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam!!! Leaving for Cambodia in the morning... write to you all soon. LOVE and KISSES***

Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb