Very bad experience with Airphil at Mactan Airport


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Baguio
May 16th 2012
Published: May 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I am traveling with 23 students, tickets were purchased last April 2012. Our ticket confirmation clearly states the 15kgs baggage allowance - thats 360kgs total for us 24 passengers.

There were no problems going to Cebu, going back with flight at 4:10am, while doing the group check-in, the crew was telling me, we have an excess baggage of 100kgs. Traveling on a limited budget, my students made sure they do not exceed the allowable 15kgs, we even weighed in before proceeding to the counter for check-in. I said to the crew, that's impossible, the crew said, "please pay P15,000 for the excess baggage, thats 100kgs X P150 so you will be allowed to board the plane" I said, "may I talk to a supervisor or manager?"

The supervisor came, "Sir you already have 240kgs of total baggage checked-in, the Airline is only allowing 10kgs per passenger free.I insisted that we're supposed to have 15kgs each, its very clear showing her the ticket confirmation. The supervisor insisted and told me that this is a new policy, that 10kgs is the maximum per passenger.

All passengers were on board already, I was left with 100 kgs of baggage - thats 3 trollies, with no enough money to pay, I was left at the Airport together with 1 of my student. The rest of my students flew to Manila without them knowing what was happening. I was supposed to be with them, these are from Baguio, obviously they don't know what to do next once they arrived in NAIA. All ground crew and the supervisor ignored me and went on with their duties. A lot of arguments happened but there was no solution offered by the Airline.

So what I did, very worried, went on and look for cargo services. I sent the the remaining baggage through cargo then went back to the crew. Ask them, what will I do next, I need to catch the earliest flight to Manila. The crew ask me to pay 1,500X2=3000 surcharge for me and my student be accommodated in their 12nn flight.

Imagine the stress and the burden of paying the cargo which costs P5,000 and the surcharge of P3,000? Our rented bus to pick us up at the Airport going to Baguio was also paid by the hour, so we have to pay excess hour incurred.

I hope you will be able to help me with this very bad experience with Airphil, hoping nothing the same would happen again.

Talk to Manila Airphil supervisor and told me that the 10kgs baggage allowance is only applicable to tickets purchased from May 1 (ours were purchased April) even her, knowing that it was a big mistake of the Cebu office, she only referred me to their customer support email address.

Advertisement



18th May 2012

I felt a bit angry reading your blog. They should have honor the policy at the time you guys purchased your ticket. And Im just thinking it doesnt even matter old or new policy, but more of their inability to show compassion. How can they take advantage of young people traveling with just enough money. When compassion is lost everything else is gone.
20th May 2012

Very sad, very very sad. I have sent two emails to the Airline's customer support, but have not received any reply from them, thats 5 days passed. :-(
20th May 2012

Stupid AirPhil
I think information dissemenation is badly needed in non-NAIA terminals catering Air Philippines. We went to Iloilo 2 weeks ago, and some of their attendants are unaware that 10kgs FBA will only apply to those who purchased their tickets May 1st onwards. There were 5 of us travelling and we did web check in and it’s very disappointing that they don’t have dedicated line for web check-ins and other passengers thought we were jumping in the line and we heard some unkind words. In your case Sir, Air Philippines should apologize and reimburse ALL the amount you paid in excess.
5th August 2013

Is there any positive update regarding your experience?
We are making a documentary about economy airlines. We would like to know for updates regarding your bad experience with Airphil Express. Thank You.
5th August 2013

feedback
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately, to date, I have not received any feedback from the Airline. Thanks.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb