Christmastime at Brent


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Baguio
December 21st 2011
Published: December 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

We're on Christmas break now, for three weeks! I love being a teacher! This first week, we're just hanging out in Baguio. Finishing up our final grades, cleaning, and getting ready for our trip. It's been kinda nice just hanging out with not much to do, but I'm getting a little bored, so I'm glad we're leaving in a few days. Yesterday, I finished all my grades, which was really nice to get done before we leave, even though they're not due until we go back for second semester. Out of my 35 kids (yes, in five classes, I only have 35 students total. I love it 😊 ) I only have one C, 6 B's and the rest are A's 😊 I love my job! I don't think Brandon's are quite so good because he teaches mainstream classes, whereas I only teach honors. But I don't think he has any kids failing, which is really good. So doing my grades this year isn't depressing, like it was last year.

Yesterday night, we had some of our students over to play games and it was super fun. We planned on Sunday, and they had been talking about in via facebook from Sunday til yesterday. They were super excited 😊 Never would that happen in the states. Kids being excited to go to a teacher's house. We ordered pizza and then just played Kinect, Wii, and board games for a while. One of the girls is going to watch Camo while we're on vacation, so that's nice. She's just going to come over and feed him and play with him each day that we're gone. So hopefully Camo won't get too lonely while we're away.

A few weeks ago, "Santa" came to Brent. Some of the local school kids also came here, and we gave them some school supplies. It was pretty much just an elementary school activity, but it was during my prep period, so I went down to take pictures. The elementary school also did a Christmas production. I was really impressed with what they put together.

Brandon and I were also involved in the choir/orchestra Christmas production at Brent. There's a link to part of it on the website. That went surprisingly well, since it was just a community choir and the high school orchestra. We also performed at Camp John Hay. That's what the pictures on here are from. There was also a lantern thing put on by one of the colleges in town. One of them was Star Wars themed. Not quite sure why, but it was interesting.

Not too much else to update on. I'll be sure to write a lot when we get back from vacation, or maybe I can post a few a long the way.

Merry Christmas!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb