You Can Take the Girl Out of Canada, but You Can't Take the Canada Out of the Girl


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Baguio
October 5th 2008
Published: October 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On the occasion of Alexander Keith's 213th birthday I would like to enumerate a list of the things that I miss about Canada.

1. Alexander Keith's beer (especially when purchased on the cheap in the Maritimes)
2. CHEESE (old cheddar in particular)
3. Rick Mercer Report
4. real milk
5. black tea with real milk (never before have I truly appreciated my English roots)
6. 6" Subway cold cut trios with lots of lettuce and mayo
7. steak
8. BBQ (when I get home I am going to eat honey garlic BBQ sauce on everything)
9. the seasons
10. Politics with Don Newman
11. local and national news in English
12. affordable take out pizza
13. Tim Hortons bagels with cream cheese
14. drive through coffee
15. POUTINE
16. affordable cereal
17. salt and vinegar chips
18. sour gummy candy
19. DEMOCRACY
20. the ability to laugh at national politics
21. SNL
22. Danny Williams
23. maple syrup
24. maple trees
25. libraries that allow you to borrow books
26. bikram yoga (to go to yoga here once a week would cost 1/3 of my monthly
allowance... seriously)
27. snow
28. Canadian money (especially blue 5$ bills, for some reason)
29. Irish pubs
30. the view behind the Supreme Court of Canada
31. proper Canadian politeness
32. sunbathing
33. mittens
34. police who are my friends
35. organized city transit (yes, I am thinking whistfully about OC Transpo)
36. jeans made in my size
37. not being a giant (read: being a normal sized women and being around men
6" and adove)
38. dryers
39. central heating
40. getting the cultural jokes

Thank you for this moment of indulgence. I will now slip back into my life of rice and fish and exotic Southeast Asian mountains. See you all in three months!


Advertisement



16th October 2008

he long time no see!
hello nicole, hey girl! how are you doing? still in baguio? wow it must be pretty heavy with the disappearing of james balao..well i just got back to amsterdam two weeks something ago, and i can tell you i was missing it like crazy, since i have been back my first two weeks were great and it was great to see all my family, friends and my spanish guy, but now since everybody is very busy, and it is rainy and cold, and everything is the same again, and i have to get back to my normal life again, i start to miss asia again! well hope you are doing fine in baguio, give my regards to manya and audrey! we should email personally sometime, i would love to hear more stories about your life in the philippines! i have to go now, but ill sure scroll through your blog one time soon! looks very cool! ok ingat palagi :) kisses maris! ps do you still see maureen (the medstudent), if you do please give my regards to her too. ps my blogaddress of asia is http://www.risje.blogspot.com!

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb