Tafton - Mirjaveh border


Advertisement
Pakistan's flag
Asia » Pakistan » Khyber Pakhtunkhwa
January 24th 2006
Published: February 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The border immigration opened in the Pakistan side around 9am. At the border people were burning plastic cans to keep themselves warm. I guess the Pakistan government should run an Environmental Studies 101 in this area to make people aware of the harmful effects in what they do.

Since there was no queue for foreigners like in the Wagah border I was put in front. All the while my backpack was resting on the Iranian border wall; I kept watch from the Pakistan immigration queue to make sure no one was putting anything. I think have got quite paranoid of this whole drug trafficking route hence, worried that people will put something in my bag.

Exiting Pakistan was a breeze; as usual the officers have a laugh at my unusually long name.

It’s a funny site at the border; there is a gate only on the Iranian side. Pakistan as usual doesn’t bother with any of this unnecessary expenditure. If Iran wants let is protect itself, we are not worried about you.

Once I went to the Iranian side, a border guard looked at my passport and got highly excited, for a change someone other than a Pakistani or Iranian was crossing. He quickly took my passport, asked me to come with him and yet again put me in the front of the queue. The Pakistani guy who was at the front wasn’t quite amused by this behaviour and made a fuss.

The border guard’s reply was that I am a tourist and that is why he is putting me in front.

The Pakistani guy then replied back saying that he is a tourist too…..

Here comes the gem…the Iranian guards reply simply was he is Sri Lankan and he is better than Pakistan…..now what do you say to that. The Pakistani guy went ape shit but controlled himself….but said no we are better than Sri Lanka. As usual I kept quiet while these two kept arguing. As usual, they had to fill another form for me, asked about my long name and said why only 10 days so I had to explain. The Iranian immigration was extremely nice and friendly.

Eventually my passport was dealt with first and I went to the customs area which is another joke.

The custom fellow got quite late but eventually came at about 9:45am, oh I forgot it’s not 9:45am anymore, it is 8:15am. The time difference between Pakistan and Iran is 1.5hrs.

When the customs guy came some people showed their bags and while he was checking the others kept going out without even showing. I followed suit and went without showing my luggage. That’s Iranian customs at the Mirjaveh border for you.


Advertisement



29th March 2008

sounds like a great journey
dude , whoever you are , your journey seems quite different. i always wanted to travel overland from india to iran but i dont think i will ever make it , partly as i will never have the time and also the courage to travel past the pakistan / iran border.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb