Yak attack


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Tengboche
October 22nd 2012
Published: October 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yak attack, Today as we headed up to the hospital in Khunde we were chased by a Yak. (We were just going to visit, nobody was hurt!) Since we were walking on a path lined by stone walls it got a little exciting. Hemingway has nothing on us!

Our hike today was down a steep trail for several hours then straight up to the village of Thangboche. There we enjoyed a snack at the Bakery as a horse tried to steal our food. Then we visited to Tengboche monastery. The monks were in the courtyard dancing. First there were two then about 8 were doing a different dance. They were certainly having fun. I wish I could have video taped, but it wasn't allowed. We are staying tonight at Deboche. I will try to post a picture of the view. Sitting on my bed I can see Everest! The clouds are covering it now, but hopefully they will clear later. By the way, last night we had Yak steak for dinner! It was quite yummy.

We are starting to see groups that are losing members, but our group is staying strong so far. Our guides really set a slow pace on the up hills an it makes all the difference. The guy I set by on the flight to KTM has turned back and is staying here for a few days. We have been following each other along the way.

Again sorrthere're isn't any pictures. Internet just too slow to upload.

Advertisement



22nd October 2012

Good Luck to you, Crystal!
Mom and I are going to play cards tonight. She gave me your address so I wanted to tell you good luck on your journey. I will keep up daily reports. I hope all of your expectations are met!! Sincerely, Dianne Stice Benton, Kentucky
22nd October 2012

Mom update
Back home, good trip, flight pretty full, but got on each time. Boys were delightful, that Conner has some great thoughts. I,'ll try to remember some of the comments for you. So good to hear from you. Everyone is asking about your trip. Watch out for those yaks, can't get Dad over there with a rifle right now. I know you are learning about their culture, their lifestyle and their country. Be careful and have a wonderful experience.

Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb