Once upon a time, there was a palace in Tansen!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Tanzen
September 6th 2008
Published: August 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I left Lumbini with a great hope in my mind to visit the most famous palace in Nepal which is located in the centre of Tansen. I was not lucky to get a bus until midday. I spent some time sipping tea in a roadside restaurant. At the time of my arrival, the restaurant was very busy and most of Nepalese began to look at me very suspiciously. One or two of them actually came to my table and ask questions in Nepali, which I couldn't understand. I began to answer them in Hindi. They moved away as soon as a police man sat right next to my table. He was helpful to guide me to the bus station.

I got the next available bus which is heading to Kathmandu via Tansen. The bus journey was slow and risky. Whenever the driver overtook another vehicle, I lost the chance of living. One or two accident along my bus journey only brought misery and fear into my mind. The mini bus followed its way along the winding road to the top of the hill.
Tansen is a small ancient hill town situated 4300 meters above sea level. It is located on the way from Pokhara to Lumbini. Major attractions here are the ancient culture, excellent mountain views, serene atmosphere and friendly people. As soon as I got off the bus, I straightaway went to the tourist office which is located in a narrow alleyway. The tourist office was closed but the shop owner at the antique shop gave me a phone number to get in touch with the person who is supposedly run the office. I did not bother to call him because I managed to find my way to a number of interesting places.
However, the famous palace is nowhere to be seen. I thought that I may have been misled by the locals. As soon as I went to the hotel where I stay, I asked the hotel manager to ring the tourist guide. He managed to get through to the guide who promised to take me around.

The next morning I went out to drink some chai from a local tea shop. There was a group of local boys who were practising cricket in the middle of the military ground. I took part in showing my ability of playing cricket. Then I went to meet the tourist guy who stood in front of his office. He was kind to take me on back of his motor-bike. He stated the rest of the history of the palace very quietly.

In the centre of the town lay a 64 room Palace, a representation of arts and crafts of the ancient Palpa. On the saddest morning of 31st of January 2006, Nepal's Maoist Rebels launched attacks in Tansen with no apparent reasons. They fought with local authorities and bombarded many ancient buildings including the Palace which had housed government offices. Many historical buildings including the Tansen palace was destroyed.

Tansen Palace had a good reputation and popularity. In fact, it's importance falls right after the Singha Durbar of Kathmandu (The place where, Nepal's most top ministers stayed and worked inside this secure compound, and also where the Nepal's Parliament office was located) The Tansen Palace was the heart of Palpa, attracting International as well as Domestic tourists to this beautiful hill. Many buildings which were destroyed by the Maoists are in the process of Historic re-construction, and without a doubt, Nepali Maoists will live forever with sorrows in their hearts for attempting to destroy a part of the beauty and history of Nepal!!!


I said good-bye to my generous tourist guide who took me around the town whole day. It was the time for me to get a good night sleep before heading to Pokhara.

I vainly try to imagine the palace…elephant parade…cheerful people..drummers and dancers who are entering the city gate......




Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



15th March 2010

trouble
did u get any trouble in tansen and how was da journey over there
15th March 2010

When I arrived, it was not actually a bad place to visit. I found people were friendly. The only difficulties I faced was poor infrastructure. The bus station was almost non-exist. I had to wake up a bit early to get a bus back! I wish you best of luck! Enjoy the trip, Nepal is beautiful country!!!
11th August 2010
Butwal

all butwal bajar

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb