Rafting on the Sun Kosi


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Sun Kosi
May 30th 2009
Published: May 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

As I was not able to do a big trek I thought the next best thing would be a rafting trip. I had heard it is a great way to see Nepal. I am actually really really pleased that I was not able to trek as I think I would have booked a 20 day trek and that would mean that I would have missed out on so many other things that there are to do in this country.

The Sun Kosi means the Gold River. I went through a company called Mountain River Rafting and there were only 2 other people booked onto the trip (two guys also travelling on their own) and then 3 members of the crew. So at about 7am the 6 of us set off on a 3 to 4 hour drive to where we would start our trip.

I had never done rafting before so was a bit aprehensive - what if I hated it? What is I was stuck with people I didn't get on with? 8 days is a long time!!! I reckon I can say that this is the best trip I have ever done!! It is an amazing way to travel through Nepal. We travelled over 250km on the raft heading south east towards the Indian border. Not only did we have the thrills and spills of white water rafting (which I think I am a bit addicted to!) we made camp every night on a beautiful sandy beach on the river. I got to enter Nepalese villages I would have no chance to see otherwise and really see what river life is like.

It was physically challenging - especially as I had my first case of Delli Belly which started at 6.30am on the morning we left and lasted for the first 3 days! I wanted to curl up and stay in bed as I was weak and couldn't stay hydrated but had no choice but to get up and go and do another 6 hours of hard core physical work. So so much fun though and once you are going through the rapids and trying not to get thrown in you soon forget about your tummy.

At the end of the 8 days we then had to take a local bus back to Kathmandu which took 18 hours - mainly because it seemed to stop everywhere. Typical local bus with bags of rice all over the floor that you had to climb over to get on and off, windows that didn't move, no aircon (and obviously no toilet!!) and full on indian music blaring out of the speakers right above your head all night!! Loved it though - I really am learning to sleep through anything.

I go onto Pokhara tomorrow to chill out by the lakeside. My plan is to do a little hiking, hire a bycicle, maybe some yoga / meditation and lots of reading.

Thinking of Australia a lot now and really looking forward to coming back. Being away really makes me appreciate how lucky I am - I live in a great city, have lots of wonderful friends and a job I love. There are a lot of people in this world who have it really tough - I don't think I really had a true comprehension of this until this trip.

Anyway - hope everyone is really well and look forward to seeing everyone soon!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb