Nepal Thailand trip March 2015


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
February 26th 2015
Published: February 26th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Only 5 more days before i get on the plane for my trip to Kathmandu and Bangkok for some shopping, socializing and chilling out. Im really excited to be returning to Kathmandu, as i haven't been there for 2 years or more. Looking forward to some great shopping to be had and will also get out to the Kathmandu Valley for a cultural fix and hopefully some day walks. Hoping to do a homestay in a traditional village and will be visiting Bhaktapur and Dhulikell. The next few days i will be doing some final preparation. Packing my bags ( travel lightly so I can make the most of my 30kg allowance on return) and I need to buy some US dollars maybe $100 to help with my visa for Nepal ($25 USD for 14 days) and to use as a back up. Not happy with the Aussie dollar at the moment but Kathmandu and Bangkok are ok to use Aussie dollars and I will also take my Visa card as a back up. Will fly Thai airlines with 10 days in Nepal and a 5 day stop over in Bangkok on the return. Inside Tip if you are flying to Nepal, India or anywhere in the sub continent use an Indian travel agent in Melbourne/Sydney. I recommend Gurkha travel much cheaper than booking online through the Thai airlines site.



I haven't organised accommodation in either cities but will stay around Thamel in Kathmandu and Khao San in Bangkok. I expect to pay around $15 to 20 per day at reasonable hotels. If i want to I can go cheaper maybe $5 a day but in Nepal you might get rats in your room to share with and mad dogs barking all night outide your hotel. Bangkok you would be in a sweat box with paper thin walls at that price. Been there and done that 0nce or twice too often. I have some good friends in Kathmandu to catch up with. Mohan who is my freight forwarder and also Jeevan and Mallu from Hemp house. Usually go out for a feed with them and will visit their houses Also easy to meet other travellers around the tourist sites.



Kathmandu has some great live music happening in the night time so will be knocking a few back listening to Hendrix, Sabbath, blues and other great music covers. Food in Nepal is cheap, cheap, cheap but will be eating vegetarian as the street butcher shops are slightly rank. Hopefully if the weather is all good Im planning to do a flight over Everest. Planes leave early morning weather permitting and fly right over the big peaks. If you are ever flying into Nepal via South East Asia try and get a window seat on the right hand side. You generally fly over Kolkatta and the ganges delta and then swing inland with great Himalayan views weather permitting. On my last trip to Nepal I over indulged on the free vodka on the flight from Bangkok to Kathmandu and when embarking from the airport I forgot to collect my baggage and spent the first day with a massive headache. I will be posting updates on my trip every day cheers.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb