Namaste


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
December 21st 2014
Published: December 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone!
I've been here in beautiful Nepal for just over 2 weeks now and I've finally found the time to start this Blog.
My introduction to Nepal came via a small murky window on the plane out of which I could see the snow peaked Himalayan mountains rising somewhat majestically above the clouds and gleaming in the sunlight. Once i was out of the airport it was dark and my next exposure to the country was one of chaos and poverty. the roads were rammed packed with traffic and bikes were squeezing into any space a car couldn't quite fit. there was a constant bombardment of car horns and beside the road people sat around fires outside decrepit looking building. we finally arrived at the house which seemed to be in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by darkness.
awaking the next morning i discovered that the house was surrounded by mountains and paddy fields and the abundance of bird calls made for a fitting soundtrack.
One of my concerns about traveling here was the food but Nepali food is really delicious and around most of Kathmandu are cuisines from around the world (you can only go without pizza for so
Around KathmanduAround KathmanduAround Kathmandu

A river of filth and yet still beautiful
long)



Since my arrival in Nepal I've had a number of different experiences, I've seen some of the poverty, the incredible scenery and culture and even an earthquake (if it counts, it was very minor). I will leave it here for my first entry, I'm not a writer so i will it to the photos show you some of what I've seen


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Garden of DreamsGarden of Dreams
Garden of Dreams

A small peaceful retreat from the hectic streets of Kathmandu
Pasupatinath TemplePasupatinath Temple
Pasupatinath Temple

cremation taking place on the banks of the river. I expect to see this on a much larger scale in Varanasi but unlike India photography is allowed at this location


Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb