Frogger


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
June 18th 2014
Published: June 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

As soon as you step out of the Kathmandu airport you are bombarded with people trying to carry your bags, get you a hotel and offer you a taxi. I was approached by a man asking me, “SIT?” I figured I would give this a shot even though he didn’t have an SIT sign. He brought me to another American, named Victoria. We were soon united with a Sherpa who was to take us to our tea house. Victoria and I sat in the back of a car barely bigger than a Car to Go, and held on! The driver was taking us through spaces that were JUST big enough for the car to pass through-We maybe had a centimeter on either side going in between alley ways, buses, motorcycles and even pedestrians. They don't expect you to stop walking and they certainly won't stop for you. They just honk, a lot. I was involved in two very minor collisions. One involved a motorcycle. We chased him for a few minutes before finally catching up with him. Our driver then proceeded to argue with the man for ten minutes. I’m still not sure who “won.” Even though Nepal traffic laws are pretty much obsolete and it seems chaotic, there is a system and I felt safe knowing they drive like this every day. This gave me time to soak in as much of Kathmandu as I could before arriving at the Dragon Guest House.

Enjoy some pictures taken while driving around Kathmandu and of the guest house we are staying in for the week!

-C


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb