I'm really, finally here.


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
May 20th 2010
Published: October 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

20th May?
Here I am. I'm really, finally, here.

It's our first full day in Nepal. We arrived yesterday afternoon after the most exhausting 20 hour journey I have ever undertaken. The flight from London Heathrow and the transfer at Delhi went without a hitch, but I was completely incapable of sleep on the plane (due mainly to TERROR as the turbulence was horrible and I'm a really bad flier at the best of times) This might be a contributing factor to the awful jetlag im feeling...I'e never had it before, and I never want it again. I still have no idea what the time is, and I even thought it was a day later than when it actually is...I was awake all night on the 19th when we flew, and last night, the 19th again and our first night in our lovely hotel, i got about 2 hours sleep before waking up and spending the entire night staring at the walls. I had a bit of a crap first night, couldn't stop feeling how far away i was from everyone and had a few moments when i couldn't help but cry. I'm feeling good now though 😊 But being awake for two nights in a row with nothing to think about but how far away i was from matt was a bit difficult (as was saying goodbye at the airport).

We are currently staying in Hotel Ganesh Himchal near the Themal district of Kathmandu. Its a crazy labyrinth of beeping cars, mopeds, chickens, children, colourful market stalls, tacky tourist shops, hot food vendows and just everything you can imagine. Its absolutely insane and the most beautiful and colourful place I think I've ever been. It's chaos, but theres so much to look at its just a sensory overload. From our hotel room we have a balcony terrace overlooking all the coloured rooftops and buddhist prayer flags of the city, which spreads out to a backdrop of endless mountains and temples. The himalayas are partly obscured by the pollution (the smog is intense) but today we are planning on climbing a hill to a temple near the outskirts of the city to get a view of the Kathmandu Valley. We also need t try and sort stuff out with the bank as neither of our cards will work and neither will my travel money card. So all we have to live off for a while is travellers cheques (so glad i brought some.)

Right I'd better be off. We are planning to check out of our hotel today and try to find a cheaper one in Freak Street (an old hippy hang out). Hotel Ganesh is incredible. We jut had a delicious curry for BREAKFAST sat in the garden underneith prayer flags and palm trees with the sound of Kathmandus beeping and buddhist chanting in the background. Its 35 degrees outside and stifling. I also just had a yak butter coffee which was amazing. Right, I think that's all I should write for now as we need to get our bags 😊 I miss everyone from home so much and can't stop thinking about how far away home now is, it makes me feel sick to think about it. THe feeling of sickness is slowly turning into excitement as the prospect of what awaits us over the next few days. The people here are so friendly, everything happens so quickly and with all the colours, sounds, smiles and the smell of insense I feel as though i'm falling in love with Nepal already.

So for ow, Namaste.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb