Kathmandu Flu


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
October 1st 2010
Published: October 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I began today determined to find a chemist. That determination didn't last long.

I managed to get outside and about 2 blocks away from the hotel when my breathing decided to stop. After having a coughing and sneezing fit for about 5 minutes (positive I was going to die!) and having numerous Nepalese people stop to see if I was OK, I managed to make it back to the hotel. Once I was back in the air conditioning I was able to breathe again - thank goodness!

So that decided it. I was hanging out at the motel until I got picked up for my trip to Pokhara.

I went back to my room, packed up my bags, went downstairs to check out and made myself comfy in the lobby. The air conditioning was much better there than in my room.

The guy finally arrived to take me and another builder to the airport - yes I was flying rather than going in the bus. I was slightly disappointed but more concerned that my blocked up head might actually explode once I got up in the air!

We finally made it to the airport (bags on the roof of a tiny little car with nothing tying them down!) and met up with about 050 other builders from Australia, USA, New Zealand and Korea. It was slightly disappointing to find out that the NZ team is 150 people - that's 3 times as big as the Aussie team!!! Bloody Kiwi's!

After much drama of getting so many people checked in, luggage put through, it was now 3pm - our flight was due to leave Kathmandu at 2.30!

During this time, my temperature decided to skyrocket and for the second time today I felt like I was going to die!!

2L of water later (I felt that crook that I wasn't even concerned about having to use a squatting loo!!) and 2 hours later we finally got to board the plane. Yay!

It was a little scary when all of a sudden we were completely surrounded my mountains. Spectacular views, but even more spectacular was the pilot. My head didn't explode (sorry to disappoint) and we made it safely to Pokhara in 35 minutes.

We had a bus waiting to pick us up and take us to the Pokhara Grand Hotel. And surprisingly, it really is grand!! When we arrived, we got a traditional Nepalese welcome and got served nice cold glasses of orange cordial. It was the best drink I've ever had in my life!!!!

I noticed a guy in the lobby wearing an Origin shirt so I went to say hi! Quang had been in Pokhara for a week doing a trek with 2 girls from Origin Stephanie and Joanna.

Then, just because there had not been enough drama for one day, the manager came over to our newly arrived group and told us that there were not enough rooms for us all that night and they were sending us to the Shangri-La Resort just down the road. No biggie - I'd never be able to afford to stay at a Shangri-La Resort otherwise!!!

All I can say is wow. Totally stunning. We got settled in our rooms, had a shower, washed my hair again (woohoo!), moisturised my rudolph nose and then headed back to the Pokhara Grand for dinner with the rest of the Aussie team that actually hd rooms there.

I seriously contemplated going parasailing with Quang, Steph & Joanna the next morning but I had serious concerns about me and the tandem instructor getting covered in snot. So that put an end to that. Maybe later in the week if I have time and feel better!!!!

Thankfully it wasn't a late night and I was able to give myself a dose of night time cold & flu tablets and curl up in bed by 8.30.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb