Poverty


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
April 30th 2009
Published: April 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Poverty in Nepal.

Is everywhere. Unavoidable and at times, indescribable. 3 young girls approached me at the bus stop with their arms outstretched begging for money. I ignored them and sat in the tempo. One came around behind me and tapped me on the back through the window. The tempo pulled away. I struggle to know what the right thing to do is in this situation. I can’t give money to every kid I see on the street..

Later that night I went into Thamel for a friend’s farewell. On the way to the Bhutanese restaurant she had picked, we walked past 5 kids sitting on the street, sniffing glue. It was 7pm and they were high from a day’s worth of self sedation.

Afterwards at about 10pm, I walked through Thamel on the way home and three boys of about 8-10 years of age walked past me with no shoes on, dirty and with rubbish bags full, slung over their shoulders. I wondered if they would have somewhere safe to sleep for the night although I already knew the answer.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb