This is it.


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
February 24th 2008
Published: March 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

19-24-FEB-2008

WORK

I pick up Shelkar's eyeglasses via Tuk-Tuk and grab a couple samosas en route back home. She is so excited when I drop them off, jumping up and down and hugging me for an excessively long time- she is such a sweetheart and tells me she'll be sad when I leave.

I've updated vaccination records and put together the numbers for next month, seeing that I will no longer be around. One of the other volunteers skips out on the health talk she's supposed to give- I haven't seen her essentially since I met her a few days after she was placed at my Children's home. I truly wonder why she even bothered with volunteering. The power is out at 1pm so that's it for the work I am able to do in the office. One day, I experience a record breaking 3 consecutive hours of electricity in the office so am finally able to finish updating the last 5 months of my 54 childrens' health profiles. GOLD STAR! I seem to have assumed many of the health coordinator responsibilities since Paul as been out of town, planning health checks and vaccinations when he's not around.

In order to prepare the home managers for my departure, I hand off the regular medicines to them, reducing my daily responsibilities to multivitamins and skin issues.

My last day in the office, I complete the February report and head out for the last time as a volunteer. Such a strange feeling knowing that this is it.

Katie takes over recording during my last two health checks, and I rattle out the health histories of all my children. I only mess up on one of their names, though I find this slightly unacceptable.

The male home manager expresses his thanks for my help and actually says that he's proud of me for sticking it out over the last 5 months. This takes me by surprise considering the perceived inequalities between men and women in Nepali culture. I promise to return after my trek to dole out the photos I've taken of the kids. Think that would be something nice for them to hang on to.


PERSONAL
For some reason, although I cannot remember the last time it's rained, the road leading to my house is a giant mud puddle as soon as you turn off the main route. I am carrying the big green Charity health bag. The traction on the bottom of my flip flops is long gone. I am laying in the mud. All these Nepali people are staring at me and no one says a word, making the situation even more awkward. So I jump up nonchalantly and continue on my way as if nothing happened. One side of this huge bag is completely covered in mud that quickly dries into a big dirty mess. I hop on the microbus and the bus boy wedges the bag beneath the bench seat that I know will be trouble after millions more people crowd on. And it is. The mud is brushing off everywhere and on everyone situated between where I am sitting and the side of the road. The people are not happy so I shove my way out as fast as I possibly can and don't look back.

As there are fewer and fewer buses running due to the diesel shortage, the bus rides into town become increasingly more crowded and genuinely difficult to ride. There are now only a few buses, taxis and motorbikes on the road, and virtually no personal vehicles. The reduction in road traffic is astounding, the streets very bare of motorized vehicles. The lines for diesel extend on the sidewalk for as far as the eye can see.

The bus boy is complaining about me being on the bus since it's so crowded so I politely let him know in Nepali that I understand what he was saying. Ooooh, didn't see that coming!

The family cooks tea and dinner out on a wood fueled fire in the shed because they've run out of gas. Though they claim some is due to arrive the next day, it doesn't arrive at all during my remaining time there.

The people of Nepal have such spirit. I reassure my craft shopkeeper that there is hope for Nepal amidst the fuel, electricity and water shortage. I'm suddenly saddened at my realization of the true state of things here. This is my home right now.

The coldest nights were at the very end of January and first few days of February. I was able to maintain my room in the mid 40s at night, though it was significantly colder outside as evidenced by the eternal condensation on my window panes. But now I no longer have to wear long john pants or a hoodie to bed- I am now down to a single layer of clothing and sometimes can go without the big heavy blanket and just my -5C sleeping bag! It's now up to the mid, sometimes upper 50s in my room at night now. I have a feeling I'm getting spoiled by this excessive warmth. I can tell it's warmer because the giant spideys are back inside the house. The last time I saw the big flattened ones was back in October or November, clinging to the walls of the clay village home at our health camp. Those were ginormous.

I risk serious intestinal issues and go for a roadside fruit plate where the fruit even appears to be physically dirty. But it is only 15Rs (25c), healthy, and very refreshing looking beneath the scorching sun. My gut prevails and I evade sickness. I have developed a stomach of steel.

I put together a health kit for my trek- I am now officially prepared against diarrhea, giardia, respiratory/fungal infections, allergies, bacterial eye/ear infections, colds, fever and general aches and pains! I can't imagine not being able to have access to these prescription meds and risking sickness during the trek. That could be seriously nasty.

I ask Nikki, one of the twin girls at my house, for all of my favorite recipes. The translation is pretty rough, so hopefully I'll be able to pull off a suitable daal bhaat back home.

It is gift time and everyone seems to love their presents! I find it funny that the kids' favorite items were the afterthoughts. The glow sticks are a big hit- and extremely useful since the electricity is always out. But of course, Nikki finds a way to break one of them and her hand is glowing blue in the dark. And because they are from America, the kids find them that much more cool. The girls keep thanking me for the gifts and Nikki actually apologizes for not being able to reciprocate to the extent of what I'd given then. I then feel as if I may have overdone it a bit, but I really wanted to show my appreciation for their hospitality and all they've done for me. My family gives me a beautiful green necklace that I absolutely love.

For my last dinner, I am served the tastiest saag (cooked spinach) daal bhaat I've ever have. And baa brings home pizza as a special treat. They throw mushrooms into my morning daal bhaat the next morning just for me- these people are amazing. Baa tells me that I need to return to Nepal to celebrate our family.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.371s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb