life is....


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
March 8th 2008
Published: March 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Here you get some more pictures from today! I'm still in Kathmandu, enjoying 'European food' for a change-haha... Kathmandu is soooo unbelievable dirty!!!I somehow cut that out of my memories the last time I have been here six years ago-or it became worse... Anyway, I had a really nice day (T-shirt whether!!!!), first going together with Lena (another volunteer from Banepa) to the Boudhnat stupa (buddhist temple), then walking to Pashupathinat (hindu temple) and finally via the Durbar square back to Thamel. We took some of the local tuktuks togehter with about 10 other people withing 1.5 square meter-haha-I loved that already six years ago...And I'm surprised that I still can find my way around in Kathmandu, I just have to follow my feeling and eventually end up at the right spot.... Babs-I had some cake in Snowman😉)-was thinking about you😉
Yeah-I enjoy life a lot here in Nepal! After I got really depressed last Thursday at my internship place because I just don't understand a word, don't understand the system according to which they are working, didn't treat a single patient, I finally had a good day on friday! I was treating my first patients (sign language and some nepali words like tola, mati, baira, dukh chhaa?-haha) and had the most weird experience in my whole life: I got the file of a boy, aged about 7 with the diagnosis of rickets (Rachitis), he was called something like Banema Harani and just got his cast removed after surgery... He came in with his father, I did some assessment stuff, gave him exercises for home (most of the patients are out-patients and travel from far away, so we give them exercises for home)...I was happy to have finally been treating my first patient! Than the strange thing happened: I got the next patient file and my patient was called Baneka Harani, diagnosis: rickets, 8 years old... I got really confused when I finally found him, because the father looked the same as befor but the boy looked different but had exactly the same problem....haha...I was so insecure wheter I treated that boy before or not-haha-eventually I found out that they where brothers😉)...yep, that are my little daily adventures over here...
Thursday night we celebrated shivaratri in Banepa, which is a festival to honor shiva, we had quite some fun with the locals and ended up singing with them to the sound of an e-guitar (in a temple by the way😉). Besides that life is quite slow in Banepa, not much to do, just getting up early for yoga (yep, I'm still doing it-haha), having breakfast, climbing the hill to HRDC, standing around there watching the physios and trying to get some of the patients for yourself, eating lunch (Dhal Bhaat for sure), again seeing patients, climbing down the hill again, going for a walk or something and finally eating dhal bhaat again in candle light 😉...at 9:30 I'm most of the days sleeping already-haha... But I like to be in Banepa a lot! I enjoy the nature, the peace, being far away from any stress of daily European life and chat with the other volunteers...
Ahhh, and next Thursday I'm going for a mobile camp (only one day this time)!!! We are going to different villages over Nepal to assess schoolchildren for any problems, its kind of a prevention and education program. I'm looking sooo much forward going there!!!
You can see, not much happening out here😉 and besides that there is no power anymore and the guy wants to throw me out of the internet to save the generator-haha....
Guys, I hope you are all fine out there!!!!
Kisses from crazy, lovely, dirty, unbelievable Nepal



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



8th March 2008

Hi Laura, looks like you are getting used to the dust and smoke of Kathmandu...let me tell you that I had a sore throat yesterday as strong as I had in Jakarta but just went to a pub! Great pictures, I am waiting for the new ones. Enjoy Nepal!!!
9th March 2008

amazing!
sounds lovely... i can almost smell what you're talking about as i sit here on a sunday afternoon in rainy amsterdam ... so happy you're doing so well little gypserina... miss you tons xxx

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb