Arrived in Kathmandu


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
February 16th 2008
Published: February 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I safely arrived in Kathmandu a few hours ago. I was able to catch the van from the hostel and they drove me through the city. It is quite chaotic from what I could see and we drove through areas where I did not wanted to get out of the car whatsoever.

I could hardly get a room in the hostel although Marc has made a reservation for me. It took me quite some patience until I finally managed to go to my room.

Afterwards another test for my patience. I tried to book a bus to Chitwan for tomorrow morning. It seems to be quite difficult, the travel agents don't want to sell a single bus fare, they rather sell you some hotel nights and jungle safaris. After two hours I am now in possession of a reservation in the bus tomorrow morning at 6:30. I really hope to get on that bus because I am supposed to meet Marc at the destination.

Just before, I had a stroll around the area where my hostel is situated. Strangely there is hardly any light, street lamps are not working and therefore it is sometimes pretty scary. As it was explained to me, turning off the lights happens every day for several hours. In the morning and in the evening. Only emergency lights work and it is quite handy that I packed my torch and some candles.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb