Never say never, eh?


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
February 27th 2001
Published: November 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On top of the bus to Jiri, NepalOn top of the bus to Jiri, NepalOn top of the bus to Jiri, Nepal

with Thomas and Marina from Germany
5:30 a.m. and I'm packed for a few weeks of trekking around Nepal. Thomas and Marina seemed nice enough to follow, they've also been here before. My tired body said, "Stay in Gangtok, don't get on a 14-hour overnight bus." But my head said, "Don't be the only damper in the group on what might be a good time!" Mike really, really, really wanted to do this (he even used puppy dog eyes) and after the Germans did their best to convince me, I decided to maintain my good nature and sense of humor and go for it.


Well, Kathmandu is cozier than I thought a big capital city would be and the amount of REALLY GOOD FOOD is staggering! Cheap drinks, cakes, steaks, burgers. We found a great clean little place called the Red Rose. And the steak and egg breakfasts at the Cosmopolitan seem like an exquisite luxury.


It's hard to leave but we got that 7 a.m. bus to Jiri where I was relieved of my 2nd wallet! Right out of my jacket as I was wearing it! There was a natural period of grieving for my NRs 500 loss (only $6) and scowling
Fresh and ambitiousFresh and ambitiousFresh and ambitious

The first day of the trek around the Everest region
to make everyone around me pay for the crime (and because I was so mad at myself). Then I decided to see the incident as a sign that God wants me to keep my money stuffed in my bra instead.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Mike with Buddha statue, KathmanduMike with Buddha statue, Kathmandu
Mike with Buddha statue, Kathmandu

We literally just stumbled upon this tiny Buddha from the 12th century. It was planted right in front of a little optometrist shop. Who knew?


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb