Health checks, and what about a Bina-cut?


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
October 27th 2007
Published: November 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Aka and AshishAka and AshishAka and Ashish

Love these guys!
Continuing the health checks every morning. I'm actually beginning to notice that most of the children are now requiring less treatments than what they were prescribed at the beginning of the month. It's nice to see that we're making progress! Fungal infections/warts/pains/head lice are disappearing quickly!

I was actually treated to kajaa on Friday (mid day meal, but more like a snack) for the very first time. And bon-bon biscuits/bananas to boot! These people must have been reading my mind for once!

Prior to our first Shining Stars health check, Steve and I stuffed our faces with some spicy noodles (50 cents for the biggest plate you've ever seen) at Chakrapath as we waited for Paul and Dr. Puri. We weren't going to needlessly expose ourself to additional exhaust while our bellys were a-rumbly. Yes, and Paul showed up with his big green health bag across the street as soon as the noods arrived. After continuously looking left and right like a lost dog for about 10 minutes, I shoved the rest of my noodles in a polybag (haha that's what they call them here and in the UK) as a nice little snack for later and we bolted
Vitamin B syrup is not tastyVitamin B syrup is not tastyVitamin B syrup is not tasty

See how excited she looks?
across the street.

At Shining Stars, there is this one little girl I absolutely love- I could not get enough of her! Dr. Puri asked if I wanted to take her home, he must have been reading my mind. But realistically, let's hold off on that for now.

We noticed them all along our journey to Pokhara, but there was another huge homemade swing constructed in front of the Shining Stars home. Imagine four 30' tall bamboo shoots set on their ends in the shape of a large square all tied together at the top with lots of home-made rope. And for support, the bamboo is braced together with shorter piece that branches from each pair of bamboo shoots from which a swing is hung. Very difficult to describe, but it's a feat of engineering really. However, the swing does sway significanly when in use. I can only watch it for about 5 minutes before having to look away- thinking that it will collapse any second.

En route to the bus stop, I inhaled the remainder of my spicy noodles from my polybag. No utentils required. I've learned that my right hand works just fine for that here. Steve and I grabbed the good ol' bus back to Balaju (the main intersection NE of town, about 20m SW of our homes). It was an extremely tight fit- I've come to terms with the fact that I'm entirely too big for this country. We entertained ourselves admidst the discomfort by means of our favorite pasttime- speaking a combo of English/Nepali/French. I honestly can't imagine what those people thought of us.

I arrived back home just in time for more soy rice- yummy yummy in my tummy tummy. I was promptly sent to bed following my rice scoop. Yes, this was at 7pm, making for a grand total of 12 hours of sleep. I really feel like I'm wasting so much of the day by being in bed 50% of the time, but I really don't feel like I have a whole heck of a lot of choice. But screw it, I'm going to be limiting my sleep time from here on out in order to take more advantage of my time here.

Saturday rise and shine! I never thought I'd say this, but I kind of miss mom's wake-up call... and the luxurious pillows... and bed, as much as I thought my bed at home was hard, I think I'll have a hard time ever thinking that AGAIN. Sorry, distraction. So I decided to get a little adventurous and added some pickle (very very bitter and spicy radish/turnip and other random veggies) and vegetable to my soy rice this morning. Things did not mesh as well as planned. The veggies were entirely too piro:spicy as always. It just doesn't work, but I did try.

Kaaja time back at the house for the second day ever! Was treated with pineapple cream biscuits, an apple AND two cups of chiya. I must admit that I exchanged two extra-strength tylenol for the apple (hajuramma had a nasty headache). I should really try this bartering action more often.

I took an easy rest of the afternoon reading/writing and hanging out with Esteb and Hajuramma.

So Esteb and I were debating for quite some time about whether or not a Bina-cut would work for me. For reference, Bina is the girl I included a photo of in my first children's home entry: "I love this girl". Her hair is awesome, and is incredibly cute. It would be quite the drastic change, but after much debate (over about a weeks's time), I decided against it. As much as hair grows back, that would just take me entirely too close to the dreaded bowl cuts I endured in elementary and middle school. She can pull it off more than anyone else can, and I'd rather not take the plunge and have things go terribly wrong, having me end up looking like a man. I'll hold on to my hair for now! =)

Every a white person walks down the street, the children respond by erupting into a chorus of high-pitched hello's and giggles. The children out here seem to think it's the funniest prank of all time... I think I'm missing something on this.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb