Still in Kathmandu...


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
July 3rd 2007
Published: July 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

SariSariSari

Nepali women wear these beautiful Sari's everyday, it definitely brightens up the streets!
So I'm still here in Kathmandu valley, I finished my teaching position about 2 weeks ago, due to the fact that the kids went on summer vacation- and I've been trying to keep busy- which can be pretty challenging out here at times. Bradley, my English friend that i met in NZ and traveled with out there, is coming out to Nepal july 13th, and we're going to travel for 3 weeks around Nepal- so i'm stoked for that- and kind of biding time until he gets out here....but here are some highlights from the last time i wrote....

I went to a Nepali art show- it was interesting to see the different styles and strong religious influences in the artwork- I felt very cultural that day 😉

I went to a wedding with my Nepali aamaa, and got to wear a sari!! We actually didn't stay too long at the wedding, basically just went to eat, a lot of people just sitting around and visiting with each other. There is a little area with offerings to the gods and the bride and groom circle it a bunch of times and throw flowers and some other seeds i think- and the bride was wearing very beautiful, elaborate material- beautiful to observe. Wearing the sari was fun, I felt like a real Nepali girl that day...but as a foreigner walking down the street wearing a sari, it's like you're screaming for attention.

That has been something I've had to get used to. Where I'm living and most of the places I spend my time I'm the only foreigner around, so EVERY day, ALL day walking around there are about 30 eyes following me, just watching what I'm doing. I think that foreigners are just so different for some of these people and they're just interested- but at times it does get a little tiresome knowing that someone is always watching your every move....an interesting experience to be such a minority in a place- the first time in my life.

One of the other volunteers organized a trip with one of the orphanages to go to the zoo- so i went along and helped out. There were about 40 little kids- so cute, and so excited to do something special and out of their normal routine. I had a small little group that i was responsible for, and it took me back to my camp counseling/directing days. It was a really cool day and you could just see these kids beaming with excitement and happiness to be there- glad i was able to be a part of it.

I've started to play football (soccer) with the 13-15 year olds boys in my neighborhood- which has been a freakin blast. They go all out, and are really good, since they play every day- they do 3 on 3 scrimmage and rotate teams in and out- so i've been working on my soccer skills- which are non-existent, but it's a lot of fun playing with the boys and getting dirty. It's definitely Nepali style- the way they play- next to their small little grass area where they play is a huge drop off- like 50 feet or so, where the ball very often falls down, then one of us has to go down and get the ball and climb back up. That aspect with the addition of huge cow and goat turds in the field- makes for a truly authentic Nepali soccer game. They call me Phul Maya (flower of love) ahhhhhhhhhh- haha. And BTW, some of them are interested in having pen pals their age in the states- so if any of you know 13-15 year olds, or around that age that would like a Nepali pen pal, let me know!

I've gone on 2 short 2 day treks. The first one was with my friend Christian from VSN, and then i went on one on my own. Both places I went were up on these mountains outside of Kathmandu, where in the mornings you're supposed to see amazing views of the Himalayas- but both times the weather wasn't cooperating and didn't get to see any mountains 😞 but it was still an amazing place to be. Being out on a trek, even just for 2 days gave me such an itch to go off for a real trek- I can't wait to. Walking through terraced hills, that are bright green filled with rice paddies, mud huts scattered through the hills, prayer flags, temples, women working in the fields- really feels like you're in Nepal. Here is a little blurb I wrote in my journal at one point in the hike (feels like it communicates the moment better than I can write about it right now):

It really feels like you're sitting on top of the world. Feels good for the soul- below me a large protruding rock from the hillside. Feet dangling over, dangling over the valley, that stretches out into the terraced mazes. Birds communicating from every hillside, locusts and bugs twitching their legs- contributing to the orchestra. The warm sun flowing down, all consuming- gusts of wind come, banging against you on the hillside as if you were just another plant or shrub- but aren't we in a way? Realizing the importance, and starting to feel it very strongly and pure- contentment with being with yourself- being able to enjoy your own company- and have a relationship with yourself. If we're able to be happy and content with ourselves, on our own, then nothing can bring us down! True feelings of tranquility and contentment.

Especially recently it has been the biggest lesson I am trying to learn- being by yourself and being ok with that. I've realized that this is really the first time in my life that I've been so alone. Throughout my whole life I've been lucky enough to have been surrounded by extremely meaningful relationships, from my family and friends. And even the first 3 months of my traveling I've met people that I've really connected with, and felt fulfilled from their company. But here, for the last 2 and a half months, even though I'm living with a family, in a way I've been completely by myself. I've made some friends thru VSN but people are always coming and going, and my Nepali friends i've made..it's just on a different level- sometimes its hard in Nepal to really click with the Nepali people- there is such a huge cultural difference, and even some of the friends i have made, there is still the lingering of the initial politeness you use when you first meet someone....and I've realized this is the first time I haven't been surrounded by friends and family that provide a very fulfilling intimacy and connection. So it's been a little challenging- especially cause i do like to be social and have someone to talk to- and sometimes obsess about every little thought that goes through my mind- those of you who know me well enough 😉 I've definitely felt a little lonely at times, but I feel like it's a necessary stage for me right now- and the minute i walk into the streets, it's just so easy to be all consumed by the atmosphere- and easy to be in the moment and find beauty and friendship all around you. But going through a little of a slump a little bit ago- basically just having too much time on my hands and ready to move on from Kathmandu and explore more of Nepal.

But i met my new friends at the perfect time- starting to feel frustrated and bored and just focusing on so many things in the future- my new friend has helped ground me a bit. Like in Celestine Prophecy- every person we meet and interact with has a purpose- a reason for meeting- a necessary exchange of information and/or energy. Kiran, a really cool, down to earth guy, on the same level in a lot of ways- of perspectives of life, being in the present, being happy and appreciative of life, and all our opportunities and experiences. Perfect timing for me to meet a friend like this- reminding me of these things I already know, but often lose sight of.

Kiran and Saroz, in a band called Nebha (rays of sunlight)- cool guys- my kind of people- they are childhood friends-their whole band, Nebha has been together for 11 years- with lots of ups and downs, but they stay positive and you can just feel their bond and love for each other- nice to be welcomed into the circle. I've hung out with Kiran and his band, Nebha for the last week and a half, and it's so refreshing to be around Nepali people that i can really connect with, be myself, joke around, philosophize with- people i'd want to be friends with at home. Got my own little private show the other night, in a small brick room, their practice room- makes me wish i was part of a band- or had that musical ability- so inspiring! Sang along with some of their songs, learned some more songs to practice on my guitar, and got my first lesson on a drum set! Freakin awesome! Also got some lessons in driving a motorbike 😉 Little neighborhood girls peering in- fascinated with me- the stares and giggles that always come- just their innocent curiosity. Went outside with my hacky sack and tossed it around with the little girls- they loved it- as if I was giving them softball lessons, playing catch! And then just chilling out- really talented musicians- perfect- such a good vibe to be around.

Watched Baraka the other day- finally the whole thing- so inspiring- makes me feel appreciative to be alive- and kind of restored my excitement about traveling and seeing the world- may have quickly become one of my favorite movies.

The other night, learned some troubling truths about some of the street kids here- they sniff glue, have run away from their homes, foreigners come and ask them for sex- my friend B.Pin says there are 42 street kids in this one area of Kathmandu and 35 of them have HIV- he says some carry around a needle with the virus and stick people if they feel inclined- or if they wont give them money. My friend i've met, he's 23, he went through all of this, he has been in Thamel (this touristy area of kathmandu) for 14 years, sleeps on the streets if he cant afford a room at a guest house for the night- i took him out to dinner- and it's just heartbreaking- you see such little opportunity for these boys- how can you really help them? They seem to have become so used to this off stream culture.

Another thing that has been weird for me to realize- some of my other Nepali friends who have an education and decent jobs- they also have dreams of traveling- but the world is shut off to them in a way- nearly impossible for them to get visas to most other countries. And the rupee is so low, even if they save for a long time- it wont take them too far- just doesn't seem fair! Meanwhile, i've heard a stat that only 7% of Americans have a passport- amazing!

I've found a little place- a small room- shrine like, for Hindu gods and Buddha- every night they play music and sing to their gods- they're very welcoming- a few times I've sat with them in that little room and played some of the instruments- closing my eyes and feeling the beats and the meaningful words that they sing with- even though I don't completely understand it is easy to feel the spiritual energy and connection.

So basically the last month or so has been kind of like a wave, learning to be by myself- having trouble with it a little but then being able to accept it. Making new friends and feeling re-inspired and carefree.

Next phase of the trip- travel around Nepal with Bradley for 3 weeks, then I'll be heading to India at the beginning of August!!!! Bring it on!!! YEE-HAW!!!!!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Last day of school :(Last day of school :(
Last day of school :(

My grade 6 class...they were so cute!


9th July 2007

Gorgeous sari girl! It warms my heart to see you so content in every picture here. I'm so happy for you! Have fun with Bradley!
9th July 2007

My friend in Kathmandu
Kristen, have absolutely LOVED reading your Travelblogs ! If you have time before Bradley arrives, do call my friend, Mandy Gaskin, at 555-0407. She lives with her family (husband and 2 kids) just outside Kathmandu, in Patan, district of Kumaripati. She's very lively and I know she would love to have you over for a day or a meal, and you would enjoy getting to know someone who has lived there (as a westerner) for many years. She is the daughter of my best friend in England, has done much world travelling by herself and has even been to Fairfax ! Have a fabulous time with Bradley, keep up the blogs (and photos). Your experiences this year will be with you for the rest of your life ! Much love, and many blessings. Jacky
9th July 2007

You look beautiful! It's so nice to see what you've been up to. It's inspiring as well! Look forward to your next blog and your new experiences
10th July 2007

Good to hear you are doing well....you always amaze me how you always meet up with some people you should be hanging out with. Have fun traveling around with Bradley. Much love, Amy
10th July 2007

jealous
Dude, you are making me so jealous. I need to get back out there on the road. I miss you homegirl. hollar at me.
10th July 2007

10 July 07
Hey Kristen!! You look fantasatic!!! I have never seen you sooo beautiful! We miss you alot and love to read your blogs! I am grateful that you have kept us all in touch with you through your writings. Have a fun,fun fun, time when Bradley arrives!Love you, Auntie Janice
11th July 2007

Look at all the great things you are learning!!!

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 24; qc: 71; dbt: 0.102s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.3mb