Healing with Good Friends and Good Food


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
October 30th 2006
Published: November 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Saturday October 28, 2006 - I started today with a sore throat and stiff neck. What if I'm getting ill? An infection? Meningitis? I am taking two antibiotics after the surgery so that should fix it, right?

I ate breakfast again at the same bakery restaurant with Christoph and Susanne. Four hours, a bagel, and two pretzels later we headed out of there. I am well on my way to gaining back any weight I might have lost last week. I spent some time this afternoon trying to find a particular book - part three of the Bronze Horseman series. No luck. And there are tons of used book stores here. Afterwards I listened to my ipod and relaxed a little. We met up again for dinner and I had a potato and pea curry. Back at the hotel I read some and then drifted off to sleep.

Sunday - Started the day with a trip to the doctor's office. I had to give another urine sample for culture to confirm I am taking the right antibiotics after the procedure. After this I headed to the bakery restaurant and waited for Christoph and Susanne to join me. I had two pretzels and we sat around until sometime after noon, as we do every day. Spent the afternoon searching for international flights out and trips to Chitwan National Park. I have to wait until airlines open again tomorrow for flight info, but we ended up booking a packaged trip for Tuesday morning to the park. It is 3 day/2 night and luckily is the same one that Guillaume and Kindie will be on, so that will be more fun. From there all my friends leave for India but I will have to come back to Kathmandu.

Before dinner I tried for a shower but the water was cold. The woman who works there said it would be hot later. So we went for dinner and ended up at a pizza place we had seen earlier in the day. It was delicious. I can't remember the last time I had real pizza. And this was gourmet - bacon, spinach, and garlic. We also had nachos and a tiny mozzarella salad. We needed more food (or rather, Christoph needed more food) so we got another pizza. Also yummy and definately full after that. We sat around talking as we normally do in restaurants but finally decided to head back and call it a night.

Monday - Today I had breakfast once again with Christoph and Susanne at the Weizen Bakery. It is a tradition now. When we finally left hours later, I went to the Wayfarers travel agency that they told me was recommended by the Lonely Planet. I spent some time asking about flights to Scotland, where I would be stopping on my way home to visit my friend Steve. I got some prices and times and dates down, which I need to share with Steve so we can plan my trip better. He has offered to fly me back to the States using his Skymiles as I won't have enough money left to visit him and buy a ticket back home. We just need to check which dates are open for flights to Miami now.

On my way out of the travel agency I started talking to Ray and Peter, two Aussies traveling together for six months. They would be spending most of their holiday in India but came to Nepal to check it out since they were so close. We chatted for close to an hour and exchanged email addresses so that we could meet up again when I came back from the national park.

I spent the rest of the afternoon trying to exchange my two novels for another. I went to three book shops and got three wildly different prices. I was offered 300 rupees, 150 rupees, and 60 rupees. So I went back to the first store and traded those books for another that was only 325. I got a new book for only 25 rupees - not bad. And this book is actually two books in one, even better. I win. In the evening I packed before dinner and then we headed out to meet Peter, an American I had met the day before my surgery as I was walking back from the hospital. He had gone to film school in India and had just been offered a job in Bhutan if the visa went through without incident. We ended up at a vegetarian restaurant that he chose. The service was slow but the food was amazing - I had pasta with a cream sauce and it was wonderful. After dinner we called it a night and went to the hotel to get an early sleep before our even earlier wake up the next day.


Advertisement



4th November 2006

mmm. food.
Just read your epic! Very dramatic and scarey but we`re glad to hear you are well again and back to getting to enjoy eating your grub again : ) Hope you enjoy bonnie Scotland!
6th November 2006

glad your better
so glad your better, your extremely brave and are having an amazing trip im so jealous, and remember whenever you want a holiday in gulin just give me a bell, take care and enjoy Scotland

Tot: 0.513s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 27; qc: 122; dbt: 0.2914s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb