Arrived in Kathmandu


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamal
October 26th 2006
Published: November 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Most people fly to India and then get sick. Me, I had to be original - I was sick during the whole flight and after spending the night on a bench in the airport in Delhi I felt much better. Maybe it was just travel jitters, but I somehow doubt it, because I was really sick, I threw up everything I ate (and didn't eat). And of course that made me weak and dizzy which made me spill water all over myself.

As for me worrying about finding people to take a cab to Thamel with - sometime in the morning I awoke to the sound of 'ma?' and immediately jumped up. 'Are you by any chance going to Nepal?' 'Yes' 'Are you on the 11:30 flight?' 'Yes' and back to sleep. I also met a nice Indian guy that now lives in the States on he flight to Delhi and he gave me the phone numbers of his sister and brother, so I'd have someone to call (maybe even a place to stay) when I got to Delhi.

I'm still traveling alone, though all I have to do to meet people is go to OR2K or beit habad. Mostly I meet people I can sit and talk to, but I haven't found anyone to actually join, I hope I find people in Pokhara. For now, at least I'm going to OR2K to find some company and then to meet two brits for drinks. I'll just take this step by step.

I didn't actually see India, but my first impression is that it's brown. The air was worse than after lag baomer, and I wasn't even in the city!
I also saw for myself that you can't trust them - one guy tried to convince me to go to the domestic airport for my flight. There were also some nice surprises - the cab driver that stood next to him told him that it was in this airport, eventhough he could have made money off of me.

That's all for now, I'll go look for some Israelis (for now I'm being a typical Israeli traveler, till I find some people).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb