Day 1 / dag 1 in Kathmandu


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamal
January 9th 2011
Published: February 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Friday Geesje came to pick me up from home and dropped me at Schiphol, where we met Edwin.
After some drinks and chit chat I got a gift from from them. Thanks for those who contributed.
Everything went fairy smooth, including customs and the flights from AMS - Istanbul - UAE to Kathmandu. After arriving at Kathmandu Airport the confusion started. Where do I get my Visa, do I need a picture...? And where do I get a picture taken, What you need Nepaleese Rupee only??? Where do I change money. What, I need a different visa for a longer stay, HELP!!! Well in the end everything worked out fine. I got my bag, with everything on it and headded to my pick up. It's good to be back. I missed the smell, colour and noises of Nepal for too long. Tibet Guesthouse has not changed soo much, so that was a good feeling, same actually as the rest of Kathmandu. My room is decent and there is medium warm water, just warm enough for a quick foot and face wash. This morning I arranged my permit + TIM (no idea what this is for, but I need it) for my Annapurna trek. The complete Annapurna circuit is open, which was a bit of an concern, bcs normally it is clossed due to the snow. But this time I'm "lucky". Not sure if this is a good sign from mother nature. I registered at the Belgium Ambassy, so that they know I'm here. I just need to arrange the bus ticket for tomorrow and them im ready to start the 4 weeks trek. Which is one of the most amazing treks in the world (they say), well let see :-)...
For mow on you can reach me on my Nepaleese cell phone number: 00977-981 33 12 673


Vrijdag haalde Geesje mijn op van huis om vervolgens naar Schiphol te gaan, waar we Edwin ontmoette. Na wat drankjes en wat bijkletsen kreeg in mijn cadeau. Bedankt voor iedereen die era an mee weft gewerkt.
Zowel de douana als mijn vluchten van Ams, naar Istanbul, UEA als naar Nepal verliepen allemaal vrij voorspoedig. Na mijn aankomst op Kathmandu luchthaven begon de verwarring. Waar haal ik mijn visum, heb ik een foto nodig…?waar kan ik die laten maken… Wat, kan ik alleen maar in Nelapeese Rupees betalen…?Ok waar kan ik mijn geld wisselen. Wat, hebik een ander visum nodig voor langer te blijven??? HELP!!!. Maar uiteindelijk is het me dan toch allemaal gelukt en heb ik rugzak opgehaal met alles der op en der aan en ben ik naar mijn pick up gegaan.
Het is goed om weer terug te zijn. Ik heb de geuren, kleuren en geluiden van Nepal te lang moeten missen.
Het Tibet Guesthouse is nog niet veel veranderd, not zoals Kathmandu. Mijn kamer is redelijk en het water was net warm genoeg om mijn handen en voeten te wassen.
Vanmorgen heb ik mijn Annapurna permit + tim (geen idée wat dit is, maar ik heb het nodig) geregeld.
Het gehele Annapurna circuit is “gelukkig” open. Normaal gesproken is deze nu dicht ivm sneeuw. Ik weet eigelnlijk niet of dit wel een goed teken is van moeder natuur.
Daarna heb ik mij bij de Belgische consul geregistreerd, zodat ze weten dat ik der ben. Nu moet ik enkel nog mijn bus ticket regelen en dank an ik morgen aan mijn trek beginnen. Volgens vele de mooiste trek ter wereld. Ik ben benieuwd.
Vanaf heden ben ik te berijken via mijn Nepaleese mobiele nummer: 00977-981 33 12 673


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb